Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bogangar NSW Australia
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Excel 2010 Workbook not scrolling nor Pageup/PageDown

    I have created an XLSM workbook using Excel 2010 (32 bit) that has two Password Protected Worksheets. It works perfectly on my Windows 7 64 bit computer and my Windows 8.1 32 bit computer, both using Excel 2010 32 bit.

    When I send this workbook to a friend (using Windows 8.1 32 bit and Excel 2010 32 bit) who saves it to "My Documents" the opens it, clicks Enable twice to defeat the Excel "protection" the primary Worksheet is displayed but it is not possible to navigate around it using the Arrow Keys, PageUp/PageDown keys or the Scroll Bars. The vertical scroll bar indicates the Row it should move to, but the display does not move. The Ribbon appears to be functioning normally.

    I've been through the File>Option>Trust Centre Settings and they are all exactly the same as on my computer.

    Anyone got any bright ideas as to what the cause of this frustrating problem could be?

    Any and all assistance very much appreciated.

    Cheers

    BygAuldByrd



  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,639
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 650 Times in 592 Posts
    Make sure the scroll lock is off

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bogangar NSW Australia
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Problem resolved

    It was not the Scroll Lock key - thanks for pointing it out for me to check.

    The problem was that the top 31 rows of the Sheet are frozen and on my friend's computer, even at 75% zoom only the top 30 rows were being displayed. Testing with the Zoom at 50% and 25% proved the Workbook was working correctly:-)

    Now I have to redesign the Sheet so that the data columns below the top 31 rows can be seen and are of a size that is workable.
    Thanks

    BygAuldByrd

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    BAB,

    That must be some spreadsheet as my 23" monitor only shows 31 rows with a blank worksheet! If I minimize the ribbon I get 35.5 rows so you may want to think about that as a way to get more rows on the screen. If I may ask why so many rows frozen?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bogangar NSW Australia
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    It is quite a big spread sheet. It starts out at about 50 narrow columns wide and 45+ rows which increases forever as more data is added daily.

    The top 30 or so (now reduced to 21) rows are taken up by 5 charts that reflect the market data entered into the columns below the charts. Only the charts and the most recent data is displayed as the charts are frozen in position, while the data columns scroll down as more data is entered. 31 rows on screen is not a problem for me as my laptop screen is 1600x1050 and comfortably shows 43 rows with 100% zoom, while my attached 23" monitor is 1920x1200, which displays 52 rows at 100% zoom.
    20141118 Trend Follower Screenshot.JPG

    I think my friend's computer only has a vertical resolution of around 768 or 800, hence the issue. When I created the workbook I never considered sharing it with others until they saw it and figured they could use it without the hard yakka of creating it - and they don't have the skill to so anyway. So, in the process I've learned a few mow Excel/VBA tricks.

    Cheers

    BygAuldByrd
    Last edited by BygAuldByrd; 2014-11-17 at 17:00.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,639
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 650 Times in 592 Posts
    BygAuldByrd,

    Maybe something like this may be helpful. You can toggle the graphs to be displayed or to be hidden if you want access to the data below it. Toggling back and forth will not change the rows you have frozen; it will just hide them. In this example I have set the rows containg the graphs to a named reange called MarketData.

    Code:
    Public Sub ToggleData()
    If [MarketData].EntireRow.Hidden = False Then
        [MarketData].EntireRow.Hidden = True
    Else:
        [MarketData].EntireRow.Hidden = False
    End If
    End Sub
    You can set the macro to short keys (ex. Ctrl-z) and hide or view the first 20 rows or how many your graphs encompass.

    HTH,
    Maud

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bogangar NSW Australia
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi HTH,

    Thanks for the suggestion. It is similar to one that I had tried and didn't really meet my requirements. I've also tried, in the past, having the charts on a separate sheet and using a "Camera" shot of them on the data sheet, with a Button coded to be able to display the "Camera" shot or turn it off. That approach also was not appropriate for my present application.

    For those not familiar with it, the "Camera" tool is a great way of making a re-sizable image of a chart (or group of charts) that always reflects the changing data in the underlying charts. This great tool is hidden away and not on the Ribbon (in Excel 2010 and prior versions, I haven't used Excel 2013 so can't comment on it). To find it customize the Ribbon. I've added it, along with a a number of other special tools I use to new Tab (called "My Favourite Tools"). It's listed under "All Commands" in the"Customize Ribbon" dialogue.

    20141120 Excel 2010 Customisse Ribbon - Camera Tool.JPG

    Cheers

    Trevor

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,639
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 650 Times in 592 Posts
    Trevor,

    What are your requirements to be able to see more of the data? Maybe there is something out there that can do what you want to do.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bogangar NSW Australia
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi Maudibe,

    As far as I'm concerned at this time I've resolved the issue as noted in my post of 18 Nov.

    Thanks for your input. It is appreciated.

    Cheers


    Trevor

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Newcazzle, UK
    Posts
    2,829
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 483 Times in 460 Posts
    Hi Trevor

    Glad you resolved the issue.
    I presume you opted for the simplest solution of all, which is to tell your friend to get a 23" monitor.

    zeddy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •