Star Lounger
    Lichfield, UK

Reading Data into a VB Application

I hope someone can help me as I've reached a point where I am totally baffled. I apologise in advance for the length of the post but I want to explain clearly what the problem is.

I currently have a VBA database application which runs on Access and has done so for nearly 10 years. I am looking into moving it across to a VB / SQL Server environment as Access is starting to creak in some places - several hundred thousand records in some tables. I thought that I would separate the 2 migrations so am currently looking at what would be involved in rewriting the front end and for now leaving the back end in Access.

I've installed Visual Studio Express 2013 and am now just trying to write a stub application to test out the major things I need to understand before starting to move the application over to VB eg db connection, UI design, form transitions etc.

I am new to VB.Net and realise it is a different beast to VBA but I must be honest I am becoming overwhelmed at the complexity behind doing what I thought would be simple tasks. The piece I am struggling with at the moment is how to read data into the application, navigate through it, amend it if necessary and then write it back to the database. This is a fundamental part of a database application yet I cannot find any documentation on how to do it, just reams of stuff about the different objects available to me: all Microsoft's documentation seems to be presented at you from the perspective of the design of the environment rather than how to build a solution.

Here is how I have done it in Access / VBA:

1 - I have created database class objects to separate the back end from the front.
    2 - VBA in the forms passes requirements of what data it needs to the db class object: fields, filters and order.