Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts

Automate creation of scheduled task and shortcut to circumvent UAC

Hey Y'all,

In response to Woody's column on getting around UAC and the comments made in the Windows Secrets Forum I decided to write a PS script to automate the process. As those of you who frequent this forum I'm just learning PS and as such would appreciate your comments on the code and ways to make it better. Thanks for looking.

Create-NoUACTaskShortcut.zip

HTH
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2014-12-03 at 14:19. Reason: Updated Code & Documentation to Vers 1.3
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

RG

PowerShell & VBA Rule!

My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Dear RG (I'm a SemiRG myself),

I followed your link and downloaded the zip here, extracted the files, and read the documentation - seems simple enough.

Then I clicked on the program file and saw it simply open up in a text editor.

So I've been trying to find a place to download a version of Windows PowerShell that runs on my 32 and 64 bit Win 7 Pro SP1 machines.

Though Microsoft.com is delighted to link me to documentation, it sends me in circles trying to find the downloads. Could you supply links to download versions for Win 7 Pro SP1 /32 and 64 bit versions of the OS?

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Found the page with the download links: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=34595

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Installed Windows PowerShell, right-clicked on your program, and chose Run with PowerShell.

A console window, resembling a DOS prompt, opened, with a multi-line message in red type on the black background, and closed in less than half a second before I could read any of it.

Tried this multiple times with the same result every time.

Thanks