Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Marcos, California
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Have lost Google Chrome

    Hello,

    I am running a laptop
    Dell Inspiron N5010 Intel Core i5
    Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SPF1
    New Hard drive


    I need some help please. I have some questions.

    1. The latest CCleaner 5.0 does it look different to all of you? It went to Filehippo to download and I did not catch it in time. I did another download from Piriform and it downloaded fine but it doesn't look like the old CCleaner.

    2. I have lost the ability to log into Chrome. I tried the help forum there and did not get any help. So I am here asking for help.

    If I use IE I can log into google and from there get to my mail and other sites I like. I also tried to download Google Chrome but I keep getting this message when I click on the short-cut.

    THIS WEBPAGE IS NOT FOUND


    Hide details

    No webpage was found for the web address: chrome-extension://gnaghjfblmncnfgjddgelpkbhfdflicf/stubby.html

    ERROR CODE: ERR_FILE_NOT_FOUND

    I not sure just what I did. I had run E-Set Scan and Malwarebytes. Malwarebytes found all these (pup)files so I had it delete them.

    3. Was that where my problems started?

    Any help to get back to using Chrome like I am suppose to would be greatly appreciated. I do not like running IE.

    Thank you in advance

    Glenda D

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    Yes...the new version of Ccleaner has a new look.

    Uninstall chrome from your system using Revo-uninstaller (it's free) using the advanced mode, then select everything it finds and ok it and delete it. Then reboot, then using IE download and install Chrome.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to bassfisher6522 For This Useful Post:

    glendad (2014-12-04)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    I just went through something similar with my Google Chrome. Goto:
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...019#post976019
    A few other tech posters, with a little help from me, solved the problem. Maybe what they posted will help you.
    It was a fun ride getting GC back working!
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to RolandJS For This Useful Post:

    glendad (2014-12-04)

  6. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Marcos, California
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    I just went through something similar with my Google Chrome. Goto:
    http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...019#post976019
    A few other tech posters, with a little help from me, solved the problem. Maybe what they posted will help you.
    It was a fun ride getting GC back working!
    Ok I will give it a try. I am only running E-set, firewall, whatever else windows stuck in there. Malwarebytes is off and used when I do my weekly scan, So do I need to turn these off?
    before downloading the browser repair and GC?

    And last I can run Malwarebytes all the time even with E-Set?
    What else would you recommend running for protection?

    Thanks........Glenda

  7. #5
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    IIRC revo is NOT free for 64 bit systems. A much rec'd product that is is IObit Uninstaller.
    I will be trying it myself one of these days...
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    glendad (2014-12-04)

  9. #6
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    I never found out for sure what caused my GChrome to not work nor download another copy. I rolled a number of Windows Updates back. I turned off [disabled temporarily] all antiviri and antimalware. IE returned. GC returned. After un-muzzling the alligators, IE and GC continued working just fine. I have not yet reinstalled the many rolled-back Windows Updates.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to RolandJS For This Useful Post:

    glendad (2014-12-04)

  11. #7
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,723
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    IIRC revo is NOT free for 64 bit systems. A much rec'd product that is is IObit Uninstaller.
    I will be trying it myself one of these days...
    Revo is free for 64 bit versions. However, it won't uninstall any 64 bit software. I too will be trying IObit Uninstaller one day.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to access-mdb For This Useful Post:

    glendad (2014-12-04)

  13. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,748
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by glendad View Post
    chrome-extension://gnaghjfblmncnfgjddgelpkbhfdflicf/stubby.html
    That Chrome Extension ID belongs to a Potentially Unwanted Program MyScrapNook Toolbar:

    MyScrapNook.png

    Remove MyScrapNook Toolbar (Removal Guide)

    Bruce

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    glendad (2014-12-04)

  15. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Marcos, California
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    That Chrome Extension ID belongs to a Potentially Unwanted Program MyScrapNook Toolbar:

    MyScrapNook.png

    Remove MyScrapNook Toolbar (Removal Guide)

    Bruce
    Thanks gentlemen:
    Roland it did not work. I ended up using CCleaner to uninstall Chrome except for some of the web pages I saved.
    reinstalled GC and it was working except the 2nd tab had the same error message. I just ignored it and kept on the 1 tab that had GC on it and was fine until 5 minutes ago when I lost my internet connection. That is the 2nd time in the last 2 to 3 months that it just all of a sudden looses the connection. What could that be causing that? Like I said it has happened only 2 times. I just used the internet connection key and it was back. So here I am. So what caused that and Why did I still have
    that error message on the 2nd tab.

    Bruce I didn't think that I actually down loaded myscrapnook toolbar. You gave me a short-cut to remove myscrapnook toolbar or is that just instructions. Doesn't matter I will click on it anyway and see what happens.
    Bruce do i need to dump all the web pages I saved for different things. Is there a way to save them to something other than a web page? I really would like to keep them.

    Ok gentlemen wish me luck I'm going to try again. First dumping myscrapnook toolbar then see what happens from there.

    Thanks
    Glenda

  16. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Marcos, California
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Wow what a ride that was but BRUCE all those directions and software you posted for me to follow really made it easy (somewhat) to get rid of that ugly" MyScrapNook Toolbar:". It took me awhile but it worked and I thank you very much for your help. In fact I thank all of you gentlemen that replied to my post.
    I thought since it was an extension for GC that it would be all right to download, boy was I ever wrong.

    Thank you again............Glenda

  17. #11
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Glad you got it all working again! Bruce does know his stuff
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  18. #12
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by glendad View Post
    ...reinstalled GC and it was working except the 2nd tab had the same error message...
    From memory in Chrome click on Settings and look for something like "pages to load when Chrome starts". Should allow you to remove the 2nd tab page.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  19. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think this can be caused by corrupted files for chrome. Try uninstalling Chrome and deleting everything in C:\Documents and Settings\%USERNAME%\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\User Data

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •