Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Imaging, and reliably restoring, a Raid 0 [zero] striped system image?

    I've googled this question & read hours of discussions on this topic til' I'm thoroughly confused as to whether you can or can't reliably restore the image to the raid array.

    I gather there's no issue creating the image but rather in restoring it....I tried to do a restore with the free version of both True Image & Easeus but both failed.

    Is imaging even possible on on a raid 0 array and how is it accomplished?
    Tks

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    The answer is: it depends.
    If the RAID is hardware based then the restore is to a single disk and the restore program is none the wiser.
    If the RAID is software you need to restore to a non-RAID disk, then convert and let Windows sort out the RAID.

    Note: running software RAID is asking for trouble IMO. Windows has to do more work and any power problems are likely to result in trashed disks / corrupt data. Hardware RAID is OK if you have a battery backed RAID controller, then data is preserved across power outages.
    Just buy an SSD for speed and backup it up daily and image monthly.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    RAID is when data is placed 1 bit on drive A, next bit on drive B, backNforth, correct? How does one backup and/or restore such things? I guess Acronis True Image is one of many programs that can do RAID?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    It's extremely difficult as I have found out a few years back on my purchase of
    an OCZ REVO PCIe SSD hardware RAID array.
    Difficult to the point where is wasn't worth the effort to use the REVO
    as a primary OS drive anymore.

    Perhaps you should look into imaging applications that closely match your
    needs to determine whether your objectives can be met: ie. read a fac or how to sheet.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2014-12-07 at 20:53.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    How does one backup and/or restore such things?
    Backup software asks Windows to take a snapshot of the data on disk and that snapshot is copied to the backup file. The backup software does not know, or want to know, about disk configuration. Restoring to RAID should be the same as restoring to non-RAID assuming the correct HD controller drivers have been loaded by the restore boot disk.
    Good hardware RAID controllers make the RAID array appear as a single standard disk, recovery of the RAID array itself is performed by a utility program that talks to the controller.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tks for all the suggestions and I assume that it's up to the mobo hardware as to wether the data is restored to both drives in the raid 0 array, that is every other bit to the 1st drive of the array and every other bit to the 2nd drive in the raid 0 array.

    So on the image restore the hardware writes every other bit to 1 drive and vice versa. I'm using two [2] 256 GB SSD's in the raid zero [0] array.

    So if this is the way it is supposed to work why does it fail?
    Tks all ;>}

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,797
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    It is possible that you are restoring the data without the correct RAID controller drivers loaded. You need to ensure you have the drivers for your controller loaded on the boot CD/DVD you are using.

    BTW, what sort of setup do you have that requires a RAID 0 SSD?

    cheers, Paul

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •