Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts

    Effect of Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit on browsers

    I'm posting a gentle advisory here. Internet Explorer and Google Chrome was going 'roundN'roundN'round...going nowhere. I had MAE's Shield set to protect browsers. After removing the Shield from the browsers -- no more problems. I left the Shield on for Java. I put this in here because Internet Explorer is an integral part of Windows OS, and 'tis better to troubleshoot other things before meddling with Internet Explorer. GChrome & FF can always be re-installed if they implode.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Roland,

    You might want to try EMET 5.1. I've been using it and haven't had any problems with IE or FF with it set to Maximum Protection.
    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    I've always had to uninstall EMET 5.1 because it meddled with some things, caused irksome things. I don't know how to get EMET 5.1 to get along with what all I have within and connected to my Windows 7 Pro.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,639
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    I use the free HitmanPro.Alert to protect my browsers and it runs trouble-free. http://www.surfright.nl/en/cryptoguard

    You may want to give it a try.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    I recommend OP get both HitmanPro and HitmanPro Alert. HP costs a little bit; Alert is free.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Among the many readers that come here, I'm pretty sure I'm not alone, when I ask, "What is Hitman Pro Alert" supposed to do for you?

    I don't use it or Emet 5.1 either, but I do have a comprehensive 'Package' of anti malware software, and I remain 100% malware free.

    Just curious.......

    Happy Holidays Everyone!

    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    I think HitmanPro Alert gives you a red or yellow flag if it picks anything on the fly. I get one green flag for each particular browser I open. I'm thinking it's kinda sorta like Malwarebytes Web protection module.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts

    Surprised...

    Quote Originally Posted by DrWho View Post
    ... when I ask, "What is Hitman Pro Alert" supposed to do for you?
    DrWho, I am really surprised that you did not go and read up here.

    Blessed Christmas to all.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    701
    Thanks
    89
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    is that why chrome is so bleepign slow and the HD light goes on full for minutes at a time

    i thought it had something to do with buggy chrome code
    and the caching because they were shoving too much crap into the pc at once



    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    I'm posting a gentle advisory here. Internet Explorer and Google Chrome was going 'roundN'roundN'round...going nowhere. I had MAE's Shield set to protect browsers. After removing the Shield from the browsers -- no more problems. I left the Shield on for Java. I put this in here because Internet Explorer is an integral part of Windows OS, and 'tis better to troubleshoot other things before meddling with Internet Explorer. GChrome & FF can always be re-installed if they implode.

  10. #10
    Star Lounger MRCS's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    This should also help with some of the misbehaving websites.

    If you really wish to use MBAE with EMET --
    disable all the ROP mitigations: SimExecFlow, Stack Pivot, Caller, MemProt, LoadLib

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    "...is that why chrome is so bleepign slow and the HD light goes on full for minutes at a time..."

    speedball, what alligators do you have in your castle moat? Is one of them MBAE? EMET 5.1? Both? When I have the 'roundN'roundN'round within any browser too long, for too many web sites ['cause some have way too many scripts running on their site], then I muzzle almost all the 'gators, test, unmuzzle 1 or 2, test, and so on. That's how I found out to not protect/shield browsers within MBAE [at least not on my stuff at home]. Because I have a few scans that auto-run throughout the 24-hour period, 1-2 scans are bound to run during any particular day or night sessions, if something gets in, it won't stay in long. HD thrashing could from any numbers of causes. We can explore in bitsNpieces.
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2014-12-11 at 20:07.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    There is an updated version of Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit on the website, version 1.05.1.1014 that may help. I haven't found MBAE to be a problem for either Firefox or Chrome browsers. Mileage does vary, however, in the security arena.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to agf For This Useful Post:

    seeker108 (2014-12-11)

  14. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I installed EMET on my Windows 8.1 desktop system, and it wouldn't even let Internet Explorer run. So it didn't stay on my computer for long.

  15. #14
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    I can't find any EZ to understand and follow informative troubleshooting, fine-tuning information. The Microsoft explanation leaves me asking lots of questions regarding troubleshooting and fine-tuning.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  16. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Isn't that typical with Windows software? LOL

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •