Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Replaced power supply unit, now keyboard and mouse do not work

    Due to a power surge in my neighborhood, I just replaced an old PSU in my desktop with a new one. Computer now boots up, got my desktop and my anti-virus flashed a notice that it updated but my wireless keyboard and mouse do not work. The mouse pointer stays frozen on the screen. I tried all the USB ports front and back. Keyboard and mouse still don’t work. The batteries in the wireless keyboard and mouse are fresh and I re-initialized the receiver. The green lights on the receiver, keyboard and mouse glow green. I pulled out the wireless and tried a wired keyboard and mouse and they don’t work either.

    I tried to get to Safe Mode. I powered up with wired keyboard and mouse attached and pressed the F8 key constantly. As those screens were zipping by, I noticed it said: Devices: keyboard and mouse. So, the computer saw them. I got the Boot Selector Pop Up Menu and the keyboard worked because I arrowed down to my choice. I then got to the Windows Advanced Options Menu and arrowed up to the Safe Mode choice and pressed enter. I got that horrible screen, covered top to bottom with Mult(0)Disk(0)rdisk(0) blah blah lines. I kept pressing F8 and enter and the screen never changed. I re-booted over and over hoping to get to Safe Mode but just kept getting that dreaded screen.

    The inside of my computer is very simple. I think there were only six PSU connections: mainboard, 1 long plug, 1 4-prong plug and one more plug, near the long plug; DVD drive, 1 plug; CD drive, 1 plug and HDD, 1 plug (plus reconnected a plug that was connected to a flat wire which did not connect to the psu).


    Thanks for any help here.
    Last edited by BlueNumber; 2014-12-12 at 10:28.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,076
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Due to a power surge in my neighborhood
    Unfortunately that could appear that you had more damage than was apparent.

    However, the information about the computer or motherboard and the power supply is missing. That information is critical as not every replacement power supply connections are the same, some use a 20-pin main cable to the motherboard, some use a 24-pin, some use an additional 4-pin connector, some use an 8-pin connector, etc.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,730
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    There might be a workaround. Do other nonKeyboard nonMouse devices work in any of the USB ports? If no, it's maybe mobo time. If yes, purchase a powered or non-powered USB 4-port hub [or 7-port hub], plug in USB keyboard and USB mouse, power up and test. Also, try your wireless keyboard & mouse as well.
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2014-12-11 at 20:12.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    You could try pulling the CMOS battery for a minute or two and then replace it to reset the BIOS.

    By the way, those Mult(0)Disk(0)rdisk(0) blah blah lines are an indication that Safe Mode is loading. There is no need to continue to hit F8. It will take significantly longer for a Safe Mode boot than a regular boot, so be patient.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    Unfortunately that could appear that you had more damage than was apparent.

    However, the information about the computer or motherboard and the power supply is missing. That information is critical as not every replacement power supply connections are the same, some use a 20-pin main cable to the motherboard, some use a 24-pin, some use an additional 4-pin connector, some use an 8-pin connector, etc.
    Sorry. I purposely left some information out of my post because I thought it was too long already.

    I have a non-branded, DIY computer.

    I replaced an AGI 430W HP-E4009F5WR power supply with a Corsair CX600 600W ATX12V v2.3 80 plus bronze certified power supply. The motherboard is an Asus P5LD2 Deluxe. The graphics card is an ATI Radeon HD 3400 Series.

    Regarding the power supply unit, there was an issue with the 4-hole plug that goes into the motherboard. I unsnapped an 8-hole plug (on a wire leading from the power supply) into 2 4-hole plugs, each 4-hole plug with 2 very small sockets on top of each other forming a square. Looking into one of the now 4-hole plugs, 2 of the very small sockets looked square and 2 of them looked roundish, matching, I think, the 4 sockets on the mainboard. That's where I plugged it in. It clicked firmly into place. (Looking into the other now 4-hole plug, all four of the very small sockets looked roundish. I did not use this plug.)

    There are no blown capacitors that I can see, no scorch marks and no burn smell.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    There might be a workaround. Do other nonKeyboard nonMouse devices work in any of the USB ports? If no, it's like mobo time. If yes, purchase a powered or non-powered USB 4-port hub [or 7-port hub], plug in USB keyboard and USB mouse, power up and test. Also, try your wireless keyboard & mouse as well.
    Thanks for your response but I'm afraid I don't fully understand. The keyboard and mouse (wireless and wired) have lights that do glow green when plugged into any of the USB ports. I guess that doesn't mean the mobo is okay? Also, the keyboard works when I power up as I can arrow up and down on the boot selector screen and Windows advanced options screen. What would a powered or non-powered USB 4-port hub [or 7-port hub] do for me?

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    You could try pulling the CMOS battery for a minute or two and then replace it to reset the BIOS.

    By the way, those Mult(0)Disk(0)rdisk(0) blah blah lines are an indication that Safe Mode is loading. There is no need to continue to hit F8. It will take significantly longer for a Safe Mode boot than a regular boot, so be patient.

    Jerry
    Thank you for this information. Is resetting a BIOS a large task? Just F8-ing on startup and changing the date/time/calendar? Will I lose any of my configurations but that?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    It shouldn't be a huge task especially if you haven't made any BIOS modifications. You will lose any BIOS mods you may have made and you do want to go back into the BIOS and verify the date and time is right. It shouldn't impact any Windows settings.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,076
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    This page has the manual for that motherboard for Intel CPUs:
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...5ld2-vm_v2.pdf

    Look on page 1-28 [Adobe Reader page 40 of 90] to see that the ATXPWR item is 24-pins [the main power cable]. There is also a ATX +12 set of pins near the rear-port sockets for an additional connection, I've found that it is required.

    The main cable may be 24-pin or may be 20-pin with an additional 4-pin plug for attaching to one end of it to give the required 24-pin connection. Motherboards for AMD CPUs are a bit different.
    Last edited by Berton; 2014-12-11 at 14:51.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,730
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    BlueNumber, I was hoping to provide a "second device" for testing; meaning the technique of trying something else, something different, to see if things will work again. You uncovered a great point -- it's possible that the chipset for keyboard & mouse may be damaged, I don't know. Just grasping at straws, hoping one would be the successful straw.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    This page has the manual for that motherboard for Intel CPUs:
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...5ld2-vm_v2.pdf

    Look on page 1-28 [Adobe Reader page 40 of 90] to see that the ATXPWR item is 24-pins [the main power cable]. There is also a ATX +12 set of pins near the rear-port sockets for an additional connection, I've found that it is required.

    The main cable may be 24-pin or may be 20-pin with an additional 4-pin plug for attaching to one end of it to give the required 24-pin connection. Motherboards for AMD CPUs are a bit different.
    Here is the manual and disk that came with my motherboard. It's different from the one you present. We're on the same page, right?http://i.imgur.com/mNsToh4.png

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I got to Safe Mode. The keyboard worked as I was able to use the arrow keys to get to the Boot Selector Pop Up Menu and the Windows Advanced Options Menu to get to Safe Mode but after I got there, the keyboard and mouse did not work any more. The pointer just stayed frozen on the screen like before.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Due to a power surge in my neighborhood, I just replaced an old PSU in my desktop with a new one.
    Unless you can elaborate more on that, it sounds like your board sustained a little more damage than thought.
    Either that, or your new PSU is a bit too new for the old board you have, unlikely though.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Its a long shot but look in the BIOS for a USB legacy mode setting and enable it.

    Jerry

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    Unless you can elaborate more on that, it sounds like your board sustained a little more damage than thought.
    Either that, or your new PSU is a bit too new for the old board you have, unlikely though.
    The lights/electricity at home flickered causing the tv, refrigerator, computer and everything else to power down. On a hunch, I replaced the old AGI 430W HP-E4009F5WR power supply with a refurbished (newegg.com) Corsair CX600 600W ATX12V v2.3 80 plus bronze certified power supply. Windows loads, I get my desktop, etc. but the keyboard the mouse don't work and the mouse pointer stays frozen on the screen. The motherboard is an Asus P5LD2 Deluxe. The graphics card is an ATI Radeon HD 3400 Series. Thanks.
    Last edited by BlueNumber; 2014-12-12 at 15:44.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •