New Lounger
    Thanks

Replacing internal HDD

Laptop: Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720
    Internal HDD: Samsung ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB (SATA) - 1TB

Hello - as a novice I wonder if someone could kindly give me step-by-step advice on how to replace the internal HDD please?

The current HDD makes a loud 'click' sound occasionally, and I fear that it may not last much longer. I have never replaced any component before, but I have done the following in anticipation: made a System Image using Windows to an external USB HDD, created a Windows 8.1 recovery drive on a 16GB USB 'stick', and identified the access cover and connectors to the HDD.

I assume I have to physically replace the HDD, then after power-on somehow access the BIOS/UEFI to change the boot order such that it boots from the recovery drive. Will this recovery drive allow me to transfer the system image from the external HDD to the new internal HDD? What other steps/precautions do I need to take?

Any help much appreciated! Thank you

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by NipNip1964 View Post
    ...The current HDD makes a loud 'click' sound occasionally, and I fear that it may not last much longer...I assume I have to physically replace the HDD...Will this recovery drive allow me to transfer the system image from the external HDD to the new internal HDD? What other steps/precautions do I need to take?...
    Before you try to physically replace the "clicky" HDD make sure you will be able to boot to the recovery USB thumbdrive.

See Windows Secrets Newsletter Issue 460 2014-12-11 "How to solve UEFI boot and startup problems" by Fred Langa.

You will need to have the external HDD connected before you boot to the USB thumbdrive (otherwise the recovery program will not be able to access the external HDD).
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback