Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Evanston, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Deleting old and unused User Folders

    How can I delete old user folders ? When I try, I get the "Access Denied" error message. When I try using the command prompt screen, I get the same "Access Denied" message. When I try as an administrator, I again get the "Access Denied" message.

    Any help would be appreciated in getting rid of this unused folder clutter. Many thanks ... Theodore

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,727
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 127 Times in 124 Posts
    Superantispyware premium has a folder/file delete module. Emco Move [or Delete] on Boot, a freebie, also can delete pesky folders/files. Also, there is a REG script "Take Ownership" available, I'm at library, can't reach it to send you, you can google for it. Have you tried booting in Safe Mode and then deleting?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Before you delete any old User folders, delete the users in Control Panel > User Acounts > Manage Another Account. Click on an account you want to delete and click on Delete the Account.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Also with what Jerry said, when you use User Accounts to delete one you'll be given a choice of keeping that user's files [maybe in a different file] or deleting them.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Evanston, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    85
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you RolandJS for your suggestion that I delete folders in SAFE mode. This method worked perfectly and with no fuss. Also after my folder deletions I went and emptied the Recycle Bin.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    When deleting anything, if you're 100% sure that you'll never want that file/folder back, then.....
    hold down the left shift key while you click on "Delete" or press the keyboard 'Delete' key.
    That will permanently delete the file or folder and NOT put them in the Recycle bin.

    That saves you from having to then empty the recycle bin. It saves time.

    Cheers Mate!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •