Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Deploy 2013 Access on Mac?

    One of my users is trying to install front end and backend Access 2013 databases on his Mac as well as run the (32-bit) runtime exe file that I provided. When trying to run the exe file he received message "windows application is not supported on an OS X." Is this a matter of user error or do I need to use Mac-specific databases and/or runtime.exe?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    un the (32-bit) runtime exe file that I provided. When trying to run the exe file he received message "windows application is not supported on an OS X".
    Mac OS X can't run .exe files natively, would need a Virtual Machine such as VMware Fusion or Parallels installed first then install a version of Windows in that.

    To add, my Office 2011 for Mac can work with my Office 2010 for Windows files. This is the latest I've seen for Office 2014 for Mac:
    http://www.macworld.co.uk/news/mac-s...tlook-3456798/
    Last edited by Berton; 2014-12-13 at 15:59.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Berton For This Useful Post:

    QMatHome (2014-12-14)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts
    Macs don't support Access at all, I'm afraid (there is no Mac Office equivalent).
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    I noticed I wasn't complete in my response of
    Mac OS X can't run .exe files natively, would need a Virtual Machine such as VMware Fusion or Parallels installed first then install a version of Windows in that.
    I should have also said that once Windows was installed and running one could install a version of Microsoft Office/Access in it.

    Then I got to looking around and found this:
    https://eggerapps.at/mdbviewer/docs/...on-mac-os.html

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Use parallels or VMWare

    Just install Parallels and the the version of Windows of your choice.

    Quote Originally Posted by QMatHome View Post
    One of my users is trying to install front end and backend Access 2013 databases on his Mac as well as run the (32-bit) runtime exe file that I provided. When trying to run the exe file he received message "windows application is not supported on an OS X." Is this a matter of user error or do I need to use Mac-specific databases and/or runtime.exe?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •