Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    My computer is slow

    I have a 4 year old Acer 1810TZ that has 2g of ram, is 64 bit and running 64 bit Windows 7 home premium and office 64 bit 2007.

    It ran okay until a couple of months ago and now it runs slow.

    It has no viruses and the disk is not fragmented.
    Doesn't have a multitude of additional software on it, just get used by my (undemanding ;-) )partner.

    Do I need to reformat the disk and re load all the software to get it running faster?

    thanks
    Gavin

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,353
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 943 Posts
    Slow may just be a perception - you get used to changes very quickly. To see if the computer is doing anything that may make it slow, open Task Manager (right click on the Task Bar and select Task Manager). You will see CPU and memory usage which gives you a basic overview of how hard the PC is working. You can sort by CPU or memory usage to find programs using lots of either - you may need to click "show processes for all users" at the bottom.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,777
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 132 Times in 129 Posts
    SysInternals and Windows System Tools are great places to find and use mostly-user-friendly EXEs. How assertively-set is your collection of antiviri/antimalware? How many Quick Launch icons do you have? Let's start with anti-this&that and your Quick Launch collection.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    All of the Antivirus, Spyware, & Malware programs we are forced to use these days take a heavy toll on system resources, especially memory and processor. Your 2 Gigs of ram may not be enough to handle the ever increasing demands of the latest antivirus/malware programs. I have found this to be true with all my older computers that I try to keep up to date. Try adding 2 more Gigs of memory, you should notice a difference.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,238
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 318 Times in 276 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gavin99 View Post
    ...2g of ram, is 64 bit and running 64 bit Windows 7 home premium...
    Win7 Home Premium 64bit can use up to 8GB of RAM.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    Confuscius said: "no use running harder if you're on the wrong road" and "any problem once correctly understood is already half-solved".

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Gavin,

    No, you do not need to format & redo... that would be a 'lst resort' for extreme cases.

    1st, remove any (now) unneeded or unwanted programmes
    2. Do Disc Cleanup (if you don't know how I will instruct) There is the built-in Disc Cleanup. There is, also, an, even, better approach to it.
    3. Install & run free Malwarebytes (malware can impeded performance)
    4. Install & run CCleaner
    5. Defrag, although, Win7 should defrag wkly (automatically), by default
    6. > Internet Options, Delete, Delete.

    It's wise to make 2, 4 & 6 daily tasks.

    Having 'junk' amass in a system slows it down.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Windows 10OS.jpg

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,875
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 910 Times in 868 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    Win7 Home Premium 64bit can use up to 8GB of RAM.
    I remember reading it was 16GB so checked - http://www.zdnet.com/article/max-mem...bit-windows-7/
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-12-15 at 11:41.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •