Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Icons start wrong programs

    This is a Win7 (64 bit) machine that now starts Win Media Center regardless of which program icon is selected. Behavior started after installing Google Chrome. That same day, Win auto-installed 17 new updates. I don't know if either of those things are related, or not. Uninstalled Chrome. Behavior persisted. Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Go to Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Default Programs

    Look at "Set your default programs" and "Set program access and computer defaults".
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Have you tried using your restore points to prior the Chrome install and WUs ?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,731
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Tweaking.com has Windows Repair (All in One) has a File Association repair, I'm not sure if you also need to run the icon repair function.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    Go to Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Default Programs

    Look at "Set your default programs" and "Set program access and computer defaults".
    Selecting "Set default program" brings up Win Media Center and Win Media Player. Existing file associations cannot be changed.

    Selecting "Set program access and defaults" brings up Win Media Center only.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Have you tried using your restore points to prior the Chrome install and WUs ?
    Restore could not find any restore points. I have set this machine to create restore points several times in the past, but there are never any available when I recheck.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    Tweaking.com has Windows Repair (All in One) has a File Association repair, I'm not sure if you also need to run the icon repair function.
    I was able to copy the Windows Repair file to the HD, but when I click on the exe file it just opens Win Media Center. Thanks.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    What happens when you go into Programs and Features/Turn Windows features on or off and uncheck WMP in Media Features ?

    In System Protection/Configure, how many GBs/% are the Restore Points allowed ?

    See if the suggestions in this article will reinstate the creation of restore points if you have System Restore turned on http://helpdeskgeek.com/help-desk/fi...s-vista-and-7/

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,731
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Guys, Gals, will Safe Mode get OP past this current lockout?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    What happens when you go into Programs and Features/Turn Windows features on or off and uncheck WMP in Media Features ?

    In System Protection/Configure, how many GBs/% are the Restore Points allowed ?

    See if the suggestions in this article will reinstate the creation of restore points if you have System Restore turned on http://helpdeskgeek.com/help-desk/fi...s-vista-and-7/
    From Programs and Features, selecting Turn Win features on or off brings up WMC.

    Can't access System Protection/Configure

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    Guys, Gals, will Safe Mode get OP past this current lockout?
    Nope, WMC still pops up at same points. Thanks.

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jberry View Post
    Nope, WMC still pops up at same points. Thanks.
    From what you have described in this thread I suspect the "file associations" in your Windows Registry have somehow become badly corrupted. If that is the case, and you have already tried System Restore, then your Win7 64bit installation is a "dead duck".

    It seems clear that whenever you try to launch a program from a shortcut WMC launches instead. That misbehaviour will make it extremely difficult, if not impossible, for you to fix the problem.

    You probably need to back up your files (you will probably need to boot from a BartPE CD or a Ultimate Boot CD to back up your files), then perform a clean install of Win7 from your installation DVD or a "system recovery" if your computer is an OEM model.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,629
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    It's quite possible this came about as the result of an infection and while the clean install should resolve, if you have access to another computer you could create a Kaspersky Rescue Disk http://support.kaspersky.co.uk/4162 - I assume you can still change the Boot order by tapping F12 as you switch on ?

    The scan can take a number of hours to run and there may be something in this article to repair the file associations after the disinfection is complete. http://en.kioskea.net/faq/18112-file...ted-how-to-fix

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    jberry (2014-12-19)

  15. #14
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Can you run any programs from their exe files? That might get you working on some of the suggestions listed above (though a bit tedious). You could try creating a new shortcut for a program to see if that works.

  16. #15
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    I understand what Sudo15 and access-mdb have suggested in their #13 and #14 posts but maintain that it is clear that the OP cannot run EXE files (programs) since any attempt to do so results in Windows Media Centre loading (apparently with an "access denied" error - not strange since we can hardly expect WMC to load executables), so OP is unable to run any command (executable) likely to help fix the problem (including Command Prompt).
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •