Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Question What speed ( Mbps) needed?

    Setting up Internet/cable service in temporary location used for both home and small Business (on line training products).

    Budget is tight.

    Would appreciate your ideas on what Mbps speed needed? Is 15 adequate? Our business uses video (and I sometimes watch TV reruns on my PC)?

    We use 2 iPhones, 1 iPad, 1 Windows 7 SP1 PC and 1 Windows 7 SP1 laptop.

    Thanks for any suggestions! My research results were so technical I got totally lost!

    Linda

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Linda,

    I get 6 Mbps down with my cable connection and have no trouble watching NetFlix or downloading large files. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Hey, great to see you here, RG! that sounds positive. Verizon rep was telling me I'd need 50/50 for up to 6 devices!

    Another reason to come here first...always!

    Thanks,

    Linda

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Not sure how accurate this calculator would be, but at least it should be a guide http://bandwidthpool.com/bandwidth-calculator/

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Sudo, you're everywhere! And that's a good thing.

    Calculator was perfect for me. Gave our need as 1 to 6 Mbps download speed for 2 users.

    Sounds like Retired Geek and your calculator are both more reliable than Verizon! Hmmmm? Was I being sold?!

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Quite probably

  7. #7
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    I have a desktop, 2 laptops, 2 Windows phones, an Amazon fire HD and two WiFi access Vizio TV's on 4Mbps down on DSL.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    In the UK our ADSL download speed is dependent upon the length of cable, its quality and joints between us and the exchange - how much does that differ in the US if you can buy different packages.

    Fibre or what I think you call Cable in the US is different and in the UK while there are different packages, generally it's Fibre To The Cabinet (FTTC) which is a green junction box, hopefully in close approximation to your home as the speed is then dependent on that distance and the drop off speeds dependent upon Contention - which is the number of people sharing the line and whether everyone is on at peak times.

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I understand. Looks as if we'll go with down of 5 and up of 35. Sounds better for us than other option provider offers (15/2). Going with local provider vs. "big guns" because the customer service rep was so helpful and needs oriented!!

    Appreciate all your input. It sure helped us cut through all the tech stuff!

    Thanks again,

    Linda
    Last edited by IreneLinda; 2014-12-17 at 14:28.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    In the UK our ADSL download speed is dependent upon the length of cable, its quality and joints between us and the exchange - how much does that differ in the US if you can buy different packages.

    Fibre or what I think you call Cable in the US is different and in the UK while there are different packages, generally it's Fibre To The Cabinet (FTTC) which is a green junction box, hopefully in close approximation to your home as the speed is then dependent on that distance and the drop off speeds dependent upon Contention - which is the number of people sharing the line and whether everyone is on at peak times.
    Since I am in a rural part of the Desert, I tried satellite and that sucked. Then an ISP started doing Wireless from about 20 miles away. The ISP receives bandwidth from Los Angeles and distributes it via many AP's to wireless radios mounted on homes, one of which is mine. Depending on "Peak Times" and the bandwidth quality the ISP receives, I get anywhere from 1.5 to 4 Mbps.
    Still better than satellite or dialup, LOL.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Sudo,

    Just to clarify how us "Colonials" do it:

    Fibre = Optical Fiber cable to the Junction Box mounted on the house where it becomes DSL in most cases as most fiber is provided by telephone companies.
    Cable = Coaxial cable (wire) from the cable company (e.g. Time Warner, Cox, ComCast, etc.)
    DSL = Over the telephone wires.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Yes, I have come across where an antenna was roof mounted - once helped a guy who had problems getting the WiFi from one.

    They have a similar set up in Saudi with a network of towers for 4G - learned that from someone who was seeking advice as to the best deal because of going out there.

    So Fibre and Cable aren't the same, as I thought.

    I think it was only Virgin who were doing Cable in the UK but because of the cost to the provider, only certain areas were serviced and there are much cheaper and as effective Broadband options about these days.

    Fibre To The Home (FTTH) is a rarity in the UK because of existing telephone cables and the need to fit an additional socket - although some have it.

    Was speaking to a guy last year who had some form of FTTH who thought everyone had it and didn't have a clue about ADSL - posh git

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by IreneLinda View Post
    I understand. Looks as if we'll go with down of 5 and up of 35. Sounds better for us than other option provider offers (15/2). Going with local provider vs. "big guns" because the customer service rep was so helpful and needs oriented!!

    Appreciate all your input. It sure helped us cut through all the tech stuff!

    Thanks again,

    Linda
    So do you do more uploading than downloading - if the two computers are streaming videos at the same time, then you could saturate your download.

    To stream live TV from iPlayer in the UK without buffering, a min of 3.7meg is required.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •