Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Non-destructive re-install failure

    I have an Windows 7 SP1 installation on an Acer 2.1Ghz, 4 Gb RAM, 310 Gb HDD. I was trying to do a
    "non-destructive reinstall" from my Win7 SP1 install disk. When it got to the end of the install process, it told me that it couldn't continue because the version of Windows that I was using was newer than the version on the install disk. It's the same version! Any ideas? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    Is your ISO one of the newer Media Refresh versions which are later than the original on Digital River or the original ? http://www.w7forums.com/threads/offi...-2#post-124821

    You may need Belarc Advisor to get the generic product key before trying again as the sticker key may not work.

    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-12-18 at 19:09.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    wadtite (2014-12-18)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You get that error when the Service Pack level of the install disk and the current level of the OS do not match. I suspect the disk was not at SP 1. You can find links for the Windows 7 SP1 isos here:
    http://www.w7forums.com/threads/offi...wnloads.12325/

    Download the iso and burn it to a DVD using burning software like Burn Aware (http://www.burnaware.com/) and try again.

    Jerry

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    wadtite (2014-12-18)

  6. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    To switalka and Sudo15, I goofed up and used the wrong disk. The one that I used was indeed not an SP1 disk. Thanks.
    Wadtite

  7. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    It's best to back up the driver folders as well from Windows\System32 prior to doing the repair install and then you can drop them back in afterwards.

  8. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    It's best to back up the driver folders as well from Windows\System32 prior to doing the repair install and then you can drop them back in afterwards.
    I may have a corrupted or rogue driver. That's why I was doing the non-destructive re-install in the first place. I'm getting a frequent BSOD with the message that there was an attempted write to read only memory. So, backing up the driveers might be an excersize (how *do* you spell that word?) in futility in this case, but something to consider in the future. Thanks.
    Wadtite

  9. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    Do the BSODs still occur in Safe Mode with Networking ?

    These are the drivers that are loaded in Safe Mode with Networking http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/w...#1TC=windows-7 and if the BSODs don't occur in that mode, go to Acer support and download the main drivers such as Chipset, Video and Audio. http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/download.htm

    WhoCrashed can give you some info as to the cause and Googling the error code it gives can help therein. http://www.resplendence.com/whocrashed

    Have you tried Last Known Good Configuration from the advanced boot option or run Windows Memory test ?
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2014-12-19 at 04:37.

  10. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wadtite View Post
    ...the driveers might be an excersize (how *do* you spell that word?) in futility...
    It is "exercise" (yanks don't understand English properly so might spell it with a "z", "exercize"), and "drivers" not "driveers". Hey, you're ahead - you got "futility" right!
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  11. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    It is "exercise" (yanks don't understand English properly so might spell it with a "z", "exercize"), and "drivers" not "driveers". Hey, you're ahead - you got "futility" right!
    Well - realize is an accepted spelling for realise - so why not exercize

    The spellcheck doesn't like it and when I misspell a word, I just put the word into Google search and I'll get a link with the correct one.

  12. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    ...when I misspell a word, I just put the word into Google search and I'll get a link with the correct one...
    Correct according to exactly whom?

    Don't get me wrong. I am not "having a go" at anyone in particular, but these days there seems to be over-dependence on spell-checks.

    I don't want to lose my Aussie cultural identity because some spell-check program says I have miss-spelled a word when I know very well that I have not miss-spelt it.

    At 64yr old I am old enough to have learned to spell during primary school days - but these days our young kids seem to be handed a touchpad or (maybe) laptop and expected to learn to spell from using the Internet and other technologies.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  13. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    When you Google a word from the UK, the reference is usually from The Oxford English Dictionary which is usually good enough for me, but we can all have the occasional lapse - especially if it's a word we don't use all that often - but don't want to spam this thread with a discussion on spelling by whom, what or where.

  14. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Do the BSODs still occur in Safe Mode with Networking ?

    These are the drivers that are loaded in Safe Mode with Networking http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/w...#1TC=windows-7 and if the BSODs don't occur in that mode, go to Acer support and download the main drivers such as Chipset, Video and Audio. http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/download.htm

    WhoCrashed can give you some info as to the cause and Googling the error code it gives can help therein. http://www.resplendence.com/whocrashed

    Have you tried Last Known Good Configuration from the advanced boot option or run Windows Memory test ?
    Safe mode is more stable, but the problems still occur. A corrupted driver is only one possibility, but one that I was exploring. It has now become apparent that it is probably a Trojan or something similar. Restore points have disappeared; Antivirus programs are prevented from executing; CPU use is 100% most of the time, etc. Have tried Last Good Configuration without success. Haven't been able to run the non-destructive re-install all the way through without system crashing. Lots of fun. Am awaiting imminent delivery of an external anti-malware CD. Will go from there. Thanks for the info.
    Wadtite

  15. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    It is "exercise" (yanks don't understand English properly so might spell it with a "z", "exercize"), and "drivers" not "driveers". Hey, you're ahead - you got "futility" right!
    Started to reply that I'm not a Yank, then understood that to an Englishman, I *am* a Yank. (To those in the US, a Yank is a person from the Northern part of the country.)
    "Driveers" was simply a typo that I didn't catch. Couldn't seem to find a combination of letters that worked for exercise, for some reason. Thanks for the proper spelling.
    Wadtite

  16. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    If you have access to another computer you could create your own Kaspersky Rescue Disk http://support.kaspersky.co.uk/4162

    Depending how much you have installed on your computer, it could take a full shift or more to complete, but it will probably do the job.

    I've only ever needed to run it once on my laptop and not realizing (with a z ) how long it would take when I started it late at night - left it running while I went bed and it was still running the following morning - took about 9˝hrs to complete.

  17. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    If you have access to another computer you could create your own Kaspersky Rescue Disk http://support.kaspersky.co.uk/4162

    Depending how much you have installed on your computer, it could take a full shift or more to complete, but it will probably do the job.

    I've only ever needed to run it once on my laptop and not realizing (with a z ) how long it would take when I started it late at night - left it running while I went bed and it was still running the following morning - took about 9˝hrs to complete.
    I didn't know that. In fact, the rescue disk that I ordered is the Kaspersky Rescue
    disk number 10. Update: I finally got the re-install to proceed all the way through, but it didn't help. Not really surprised, at this point. I think that I have an infection of some kind. Will run the rescue disk when it arrives. It is supposed to be more than just a basic rescue disk, but also a heavy duty malware finder/eliminator. Will advise after I run it. The computer is not totally unusable, at this time---just slow and unstable---crashes a lot. It took the re-install about 10 hours to finish, but I'm sure that's because the computer is running so slowly.
    Thanks for the input.
    Wadtite

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •