Thanks

new build mystery shut downs

Well the new system id fast, very fast. Sooo fast I have missed it in the act of shutting down and rebooting all by it's self.

I noticed it FRi after struggling to get my free upgrade to Acronis TI15 from TI 14 home up and working. It may be associated with a power down state of some sort. It has not actually happened while I am paying attention to it.

I am still new to W7 (waaay behind the times) and during trouble shooting I noticed some big differences from XP.

- The task scheduler has a whole sss lot of entries. Are these mostly stuff that was hidden in XP or a new way of doing system things??

- The event viewer has several times the events that my old xp machine has for a day.

- The custom filter when applied often shows no events at all, just a invalid data message id 13 I think. If I choose the option to save data and then open the saved log viola!! it is populated with my requested data. BTW,Does anybody know how to retain column widths?

Re the reboots: there seems to be several minutes between a 'system was shutdown unexpectedly' message and anything before.
    I am still investigating no help requested on this (yet )
    David

Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    To help ? - go Start - type sysdm.cpl - press enter and under the Advanced tab - Startup and Recovery/Settings uncheck the box for Auto Restart - OK and reboot.

If you are unable to uncheck the Auto Restart box because of the shutdowns/restarts, you can select that option after tapping F8 as you switch on.

You may get a BSOD but it should give you an error code.

If you don't get a BSOD then reinstate the Auto Restart then go Start - type msconfig - press enter and disable all of the items under the Startup tab - Apply - OK and reboot.

If that stops the auto shutdown and restart then enable just one Startup item at a time until it reoccurs.