Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    dimming screen- screen shots

    My computers skills are just average. I can do screenshots fine, I do them all the time. My problem is this. I did a lot of searching on this. My understanding taking a screenshot, the screen will dim letting you no it took ok. Mine don't at all. So I go check to see if the screenshot took ok. Any ideas? Thanks, Chuck

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Chuck,

    If you are using the Windows Snipping Tool the screen only dims after you selected the type of shot you want to take, e.g. Rectangular, Window, Full Screen. You then take the shot and it should appear immediately in the Snipping Tool window. It does not dim to let you know that the shot was taken. If you're loosing another tool let us know. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    I'm using Windows 8 & 10 and the Windows key + Print screen button does dim the screen when the screen shot is taken.

    Using this method a full screenshot is saved to the pictures/screenshots folder with an ascending numerical name, Screenshot (1), Screenshot (2) etc.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Browni For This Useful Post:

    access-mdb (2014-12-24)

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Goodness, so it does, I've never seen that before. Thanks Browni!

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I really don't understand why the screen don't dim for me. Thanks Chuck

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Chuck,

    How exactly are you taking the screenshots?

  8. #7
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Using 8.1 Update. Ctrl + PrtScn I get a screen print I can paste into Paint from the clipboard, but the screen doesn't dim. Also using Alt + PrtScn gives me a print of the active window to paste into Paint, but the screen doesn't dim with that, either. Using the Windows Key and PrtScn does dim the display.

    Using the Snipping Tool, the entire screen gets a foggy look when I click New, and I can select the area I want to snip using the left mouse button. When I release the button, the foggy look goes away, and I get a popup of my new snip that I can save or cancel.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •