Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Not a legitimate copy of Windows?

    Hi,

    I've been using Windows 7 Home Premium on my desktop for the past five years and this evening when I booted up my computer, I got a message saying "This copy of Windows is not legitimate, Build 7601"

    I've never seen that before. Does anyone know why this would suddenly appear and how I can determine if it's true?

    After five years, what I can do if my Windows is illegitimate?

    TIA,
    Zelig

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Try this -

    Recreate the Licensing Store

    Go to Start - type cmd - right click on cmd and select Run as Administrator - accept the UAC prompt then enter the following commands -

    net stop sppsvc

    CD %windir%\ServiceProfiles\NetworkService\AppData\Ro aming\Microsoft\SoftwareProtectionPlatform

    REN tokens.dat tokens.bar

    net start sppsvc

    slui.exe


    After a couple of seconds the Windows Activation dialog will appear and you may be asked to re-activate and/or re-enter your product key, or Activation may occur automatically.

    If you are asked for your Key, use the one on the COA sticker on the machine's case.

    Reboot.

    There's also this MS Fixit for Product Key Failure http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2230957

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    mrzee (2014-12-29)

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,650
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    One basic thing to check is that your system clock has the correct time & date.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Browni For This Useful Post:

    mrzee (2014-12-29)

  6. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Problem solved.

    Thanks very much, it was a little frightening :-)

  7. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrzee View Post
    Problem solved.

    Thanks very much, it was a little frightening :-)
    How did you solve it ?

  8. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I ran the MS Fixit for Product Key Failure that you mentioned and that solved everything.

  9. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Thanks for clarifying.

    You can now use the Thread Tools dropdown to Mark this thread as Solved if you want.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    mrzee (2014-12-29)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •