Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How to transfer laptop screen to tv via wifi

    I want to simply project the contents of my laptop screen (as is - like a dual screen) to the TV using wifi. This works fine with my wired connections but of course limits movements.
    Using windows 7 & a Sony TV (semi smart with HDMI but no direct internet access or wifi).

    Chromecast (& others) connect directly to the internet bypassing any VPN. I want it to go through my VPN & do not want to put the VPN on the router.

    Any suggestions on alternate options?

    I have a BoxeeBox still running if that is any help

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Paraf,

    I think you misunderstand Chromecast. Chromecast uses your local network (IP: 192.168.x.x etc.) which is non Routable, e.g. does not get out to the internet. I don't see why you need a VPN for this? Am I missing something? Are you trying to broadcast to the TV from a remote location?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @retiredGeek Yep didnt explain myself properly -
    I understand that Chromecast does its thing via Google servers bypassing any VPN running on my system. For any Geo locked site (eg BBC) it does not work unless the VPN is at the router level which I dont want.
    I would like some dongle/gadget for the TV (USB or HDMI) which joins my wifi & just displays my laptop screen .

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,795
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Are these what you are looking for?
    http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&key...l_3m8jsrwmz6_b

    Jerry

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    Paraf (2015-01-02)

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Paraf,

    I don't think you are with me yet.

    Here's what I did to test.

    • Disable Internet Access at my router for my laptop (I use this for ChromeCast)
    • Bring up Chrome Browser on the Laptop and confirm no Internet access.
    • Follow the instructions in this article to broadcast the entire Laptop screen to the TV.
    • This confirms that you do NOT need access to the Internet to broadcast to your TV.


    Now you don't need to turn off Internet access for this to work it was just a way of confirming that ChromeCast does not require internet access.

    Once you have ChromeCast set to brodcast the Entire Screen to the TV you should be able to use another browser to access the desired content and it will show on the TV. Actually, you should probablly be able to use Chrome but I can't test that since I don't have a VPN or access to the geo locked sites. HTH
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-01-02 at 12:44.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Paraf (2015-01-02)

  8. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks I will read the extensive info on the link.
    In this BBC case the problem seems to be that the Iplayer Chromecast app connects directly & geo locking.
    The features on your link should get around that so will try it & report back.
    Thanks

  9. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @RetiredGeek
    Thanks very much - problem solved
    I had come across several forums which had the same question & will pass on this info.
    The music link also a big plus for me & will keep a watch on that website.
    Chromecast now a definite keeper for me.
    Thanks again.

  10. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Paraf,

    Glad to be of assistance!

    Have a Happy "ChromeCasting" New Year!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •