Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Login Screen is empty!

    If I start up Windows 7 (Ultimate), it automatically logs me in fine. But, if I log out, the login screen is vacant -- no graphics, only one signin block (empty), no Administrator, no Guest, not even my standard that is the one that is automatically logging in.

    How can I fix this without a re-install or "upgrade" run?

    I tried restoring a registry backup from this afternoon, but that didn't fix it. It would seem that this might have been screwed up for a while, and I just didn't (log out and) notice it.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CWBillow View Post
    If I start up Windows 7 (Ultimate), it automatically logs me in fine. But, if I log out, the login screen is vacant -- no graphics, only one signin block (empty), no Administrator, no Guest, not even my standard that is the one that is automatically logging in.

    How can I fix this without a re-install or "upgrade" run?

    I tried restoring a registry backup from this afternoon, but that didn't fix it. It would seem that this might have been screwed up for a while, and I just didn't (log out and) notice it.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    G'day Chuck,

    That's really weird.

    Could be a "permissions" problem? Try running Tweaking.com Windows Repair (All In One)
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Tweaking.com's Windows Repair (All in One) might be one solution. As sudo15 will confirm, simply accept the default clicks, also click #27. If you want to unhide system files, click #16, sub-menu, click for the hard-drives/partitions to unhide.

    Addition [after later sudo15 post below]!
    It wasn't sudo15! It was somebody else! Sorry, sudo15 for giving you credit, belongs to somebody else
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2015-01-10 at 11:45.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Coochin, I didn't see your post until after I posted; hope all works out for OP!
    Last edited by RolandJS; 2015-01-10 at 11:44.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,642
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    Tweaking.com's Windows Repair (All in One) might be one solution. As sudo15 will confirm,
    I don't think I've ever recommended WR.

    Did try it once myself out of curiosity but it caused me problems and when attempting to restore with my restore points, it just hung so I did a power shutdown and ended up with just a black screen and a very big white arrow.

    It took a Kaspersky Rescue Disk to get me back in.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-01-10 at 04:35.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    I don't think I've ever recommended WR.

    Did try it once myself out of curiosity but it caused me problems and when attempting to restore with my restore points, it just hung so I did a power shutdown and ended up with just a black screen and a very big white arrow.

    It took a Kaspersky Rescue Disk to get me back in.
    I have used Tweaking.com Windows Repair (All In One) many times to recover from problems caused by user errors.

    However, contrary to what others suggest re "Windows Repair" you should not change the default settings unless you have special reason for doing so; the developer of the program is clearly an expert in that specialised area, so I am inclined to follow his advice re his default settings.
    Last edited by Coochin; 2015-01-10 at 10:31.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,642
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    I have used WR many times to recover from problems caused by user errors.

    However, contrary to what others suggest re "Windows Repair" you should not change the default settings unless you have special reason for doing so; the developer of the program is clearly an expert in that specialised area, so I am inclined to follow his advice re his default settings.
    I ran it as-is with default settings, but some of his updates to the program had caused problems for others and it needed re-tweaking (no pun intended) - although complaints are few and far between on his forum and it generally does what it says on the tin.

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,155
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    I ran it as-is with default settings, but some of his updates to the program had caused problems for others and it needed re-tweaking (no pun intended) - although complaints are few and far between on his forum and it generally does what it says on the tin.
    As I have stated in other lounge posts I have found this program (Tweaking.com Windows Repair [All In One]) particularly reliable, otherwise I would not have suggested it in the first place. Note that I do not recommend changing the default "repair" settings in the program unless there is a special reason for doing so.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Thanks guys. I d/l (Tweaking.com Windows Repair [All In One]) and will give it a shot -- backup first!

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,761
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    I can't stop myself from wondering why you would log out? If you're bypassing logon, you're obviously the only user on the machine, so why would you log out?

    You could try going though netplwiz and setting up requiring a password, then go back through again and uncheck the box to see if that straightens it out.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I am the only user, for the most part. But there is an occasion when I let someone else use my machine, hence a Guest account. As for the (Active) Administrator account, there are some programs, evidently, Malwarebytes being one, that will not update unless one is logged in as the Admin -- not just with Admin rights.

    The result is that I seldom see or need the login screen, which is why it may have been messed up for a while, hence a recovery of the a previous registry via ERUNT didn't resolve the problem.

    I tried netplwiz (on/off) and other avenues on the net, but none worked. As it happened, I had a backup from a couple days back, so it wasn't a total disaster, just a lost few hours!

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •