Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How to reduce partition number in ASUS desktop

    I tried to ask this in the ASUS forums, but they don't appear to have a forum for desktops (or laptops). Anyway, I have an ASUS M51AC desktop running Windows 8.1. It came with six partitions in this order:
    - 800MB OEM Partition
    - 260MB EFI System Partition
    - 250GB C: drive (39GB free space)
    - 350MB Primary Partition
    - 6500GB D: drive
    - 21GB OEM partition

    I'd really like to combine the C: and D: partitions together. I don't need D: for data. Nearly all data is located on a NAS drive.

    What can I do to all the partitions without messing up Win 8's ability to repair itself or any ASUS stuff on the that is undoubtedly on some of those partitions?

    My thought is to use a partition manager such as EaseUS Partition Master to unallocated the D: partition, then move the 350MB partition to the end of the unallocated space, and lastly expand the C: partition to fill the space.

    Your thought and suggestions?

    Brian

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by byg7668 View Post
    ...My thought is to use a partition manager such as EaseUS Partition Master to unallocated the D: partition, then move the 350MB partition to the end of the unallocated space, and lastly expand the C: partition to fill the space...
    You've got it right.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Coochin For This Useful Post:

    byg7668 (2015-01-14)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Brian,

    You really have a 7 terabyte drive?
    7tb.JPG
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-01-10 at 22:03.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    byg7668 (2015-01-14)

  6. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    G'day RG,

    I took it as 650GB, not 6500GB.

    Don't really want to know about 7TB HDDs just yet.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •