Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Nvidia Upgrade

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Nvidia Upgrade

    I went to Nvidia and they have a program that will check PC to see what upgrades/updates etc is needed is this the way to go.

    a few days ago HP techie went in and did that remotely and screwed up cause security camera stopped working, so I uninstalled the update. (got it working on a different PC) I would like to update drivers myself if it's does not give me a headache, thinking sometimes gives me headaches. Please dumb it down, this is the "bulb"

    Nvidia has a Java app they will download to check my PC.
    Last edited by Not Brightest Bulb; 2015-01-11 at 05:24.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brightest Bulb View Post
    I went to Nvidia and they have a program that will check PC to see what upgrades/updates etc is needed is this the way to go.

    a few days ago HP techie went in and did that remotely and screwed up cause security camera stopped working, so I uninstalled the update. (got it working on a different PC) I would like to update drivers myself if it's does not give me a headache, thinking sometimes gives me headaches. Please dumb it down, this is the "bulb"

    Nvidia has a Java app they will download to check my PC.
    Need more info: HP model, model of VGA card, version of Windows, etc.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Hp monitor gone so no problem there.

    Windows 7 64 bit, Nividia GeForce 9200, Driver version 340.52.

    What I don't like is Java, The good news is my Avast and Outpost firewall and MalwareBytes are always kept up to date so maybe Java would not be a problem.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    I use it and haven't found any problems with it. I have a NVIDIA GeForce 660ti card. The NVIDIA program you refer to is GeForce Experience and I just set it to check once a month and to ask before downloading anything, that way I can hold off if I feel like it.
    HTH

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to lumpy95 For This Useful Post:

    Not Brightest Bulb (2015-01-11)

  6. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,188
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    I never update drivers unless there is a specific problem and then I only update the specific driver. It just isn't worth fixing things that aint broke.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Yes indeed that's always been my way, I have enough trouble just finding the power button on my unit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •