Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Advice on disk-image software

I've read and searched here about the various utilities available, (Acronis, Macrium,Easeus etc.) but would appreciate an up to date recommendation for my personal needs.

I probably would only on average do a monthly back-up (vital data is backed up regularly on Flash Drives)but would like the ability to replicate the various apps/progs and settings that I use daily.

I have Win 8.1 and don't mind paying for software if necessary, as everyone has to make a living.

My basic question is, what is the easiest/least complicated software to be able to restore to my laptop or a new one in the event of a physical loss?

Thanks
    That's a question that can't be answered because it will be an opinion that you'll be getting.

My vote is for Macrium, not to sideline any others, but only because I have been using it for the past 3 years and I am satisfied with it.

I recommend that you get enough information on all potential candidates by doing the actual work of researching them out individually
    then make your own determination. You will be in a position to rule a few of the choices out very quickly.

**Moved to maintenance section.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2015-01-12 at 14:40.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I said that I'd researched already, but frankly a lot of the terminology was over my head.

"Imaging", "cloning", incremental back-ups", encryption (necessary or not?)...guess I was looking for an easy answer.