Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Disk cleanup ?

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Disk cleanup ?

    Used disk cleanup to remove around 3.5 GB of system files. After the operation completed, I backed up the system to a Macrium image. I was not prompted to restart after the disk cleanup, but noticed the updating warning while shutting down and then a longer than average bootup while the system was being reconfigured.

    My question is that my backup image was made before the reboot. Can I trust it or should I make another?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    If in doubt - do another one but after removing that amount it will probably be worthwhile to do a defrag first.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I'd throw the newly created image away and create another.

    It's most likely that the OS needed to remove those files or folders that only a boot could
    accomplish. It's also likely that log files were deleted and regenerated in the boot process as well,
    along with many other low level tasks.

    A system restart should be done after a clean up of that much heft, especially for a new image creation.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    RolandJS (2015-01-12)

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 977 Times in 907 Posts
    I always try to keep 2 image backups, just in case.
    It's always worth making a new image if the updates are behaving.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    If in doubt - do another one but after removing that amount it will probably be worthwhile to do a defrag first.
    I'll 2nd this. Do an unscheduled Defrag & grab a new image. You should, I feel, also, do Internet Options (Delete, Delete) & run CCleaner before grabbing the (new) image.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Windows 10OS.jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •