Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St Augustine & Thailand
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Excessive Memory use by IE

    When I first start up my computer in the morning it is very slow to connect to my home page of Google, or any page for that matter (I use the google home page as I have 3 gmail accounts).

    My newly installed AVG protection program is giving me a pop-up warning window that says my internet explorer is using an excessive amount of memory (202mb), and that I should reconnect.
    1) Is that excessive usage?
    2) What might I do about it, other than switching from IE?
    3) Is it some sort of compatibility problem?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    You should simply ignore AVG. All current browsers use a lot more memory than they should, even if IE used to be especially bad at that. Excessive memory use was why I dumped IE completely a few years ago. I no longer use it except for testing, but I doubt things have improved much.
    You shouldn't expect other browsers to be much better, though. Excessive memory usage seems an unfortunate trend in browser evolution.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St Augustine & Thailand
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks ruirib,...I only discovered your reply just now when I went looking to see if anyone had replied.

    On most of the forums I participate in if someone makes a posting to a subject thread, or in particular starts a new subject thread, they are mailed a notification that someone else has replied to the subject thread. This forum does not seem to do that?? You have to 'subscribe' to the each new subject thread, even while you may have started it ??

    I can understand your notes that these browsers tend to use a lot of memory, and many suggest going away from IE. I guess I'm just old school, and too use to using IE. I may have to consider getting off IE.

    But I wonder if 'conflicts' between the 'big boys', Microsoft and Google, have anything to do with this??
    I just saw this:
    http://www.zdnet.com/article/years-f...539&s_cid=e539

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Automatic subscriptions can be configured through your profile's general settings, here.

    The conflicts have nothing to do with this. IE has just been left behind in the browsers war and it seems even Microsoft recognizes that. Windows 10 will bring a brand new browser, besides IE.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by beiland View Post
    ...My newly installed AVG protection program is giving me a pop-up warning window that says my internet explorer is using an excessive amount of memory (202mb), and that I should reconnect.
    1) Is that excessive usage?
    2) What might I do about it, other than switching from IE?
    3) Is it some sort of compatibility problem?
    1) 202MB does seem excessive, but maybe not if you have more than one tab open.

    2) I prefer to use IE on my system, but sometimes also use FireFox. Both use about the same memory depending on what webpages I open (about 100MB). You might want to check your IE add-ons in case some beastie has snuck on.

    3) In my experience excessive memory usage, especially by any program that accesses the Internet, is most often caused by malware infections.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St Augustine & Thailand
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by ruirib View Post
    Automatic subscriptions can be configured through your profile's general settings, here.
    The 'link' wasn't there, but I think I found it. However I still was unable to get 'across the board' email notices on all postings I have participated in? ....guess I just can't read properly

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St Augustine & Thailand
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    1) 202MB does seem excessive, but maybe not if you have more than one tab open.

    2) I prefer to use IE on my system, but sometimes also use FireFox. Both use about the same memory depending on what webpages I open (about 100MB). You might want to check your IE add-ons in case some beastie has snuck on.

    3) In my experience excessive memory usage, especially by any program that accesses the Internet, is most often caused by malware infections.
    I did have an infection recently, over Christmas,...and documented that on this forum with a subject thread. But after a number of scannings with Security Essentials, Hitman Pro, and newly installed AVG, I think I have cleaned that all up.

    I recently uninstalled the Hitman Pro as I could see that it was slowing down my start-up each morning, and I felt that the combo of SE and AVG should be enough for my browsing habits.

    The slowness I am speaking of comes when first thing when I turn on the computer and try to connect to my homepage of Google with IE. After this initial slowness, things get better, although on various occasions I get a message about various webpages 'not responding' ?? ...don't understand this yet.

    Then when I go to shut down at night, things seem to be very slow again, even while I have no webpages or programs or files open??.....some message about waiting for something to close,...but I can't tell what that 'something' is??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •