Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    4 TB drive on Athlon II X2?

    I've been using 2TB WD MyBook drives on my Athlon II X2 machine (Win 7), but WD is having a sale on 4 TB MyBooks for less that I paid for the 2TB drives.

    The question: Is there any problem installing a 4TB USB drive on my system? I remember hearing about a 2.2TB limit. Will Windows accept this size or will I have to use 3rd party software to allow it?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Joro,

    What version of Windows are you using?

    You will be able to use the drive the question is whether or not you have to partition it into smaller drives to use it. If using Win 7 or 8 you can setup the drive as GPT (instead of MBR) and use the whold 4Tb as a single drive. If using XP-32 bit you're stuck with MBR and will have to break the drive into at least 2 partitions of 2Tb each. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    joro (2015-01-24)

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the quick and helpful reply. I'm using Windows 7 Ultimate, but the machine was built in 2010 and has an AMI BIOS dated 2009, prior to UEFI.

    I don't intend to use the USB 4TB drive to boot on, just store data. And I want to keep it as one partition. So it sounds OK.

    (I'm a retired semi-geek. Glad to know we're family.)

  5. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NY state
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
    It should come from WD formatted for Windows unless it is a Mac specific drive.
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •