Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Browser switching

    This morning I went on line to pay my rent, and noticed that something weird was going on. I know my way around the web site pretty well, but things were either not where the should have been or were barely visible have been greyed out, but still useable. I looked at the URL and immediately noticed this which to me looks like the Google Chrome icon. In other words it appears as if the website changed my browser without letting me know. I at first thought too that maybe it had something to do with the fact that I was on my Surface RT, so went to my Windows 7 Ultimate laptop, also running I.E. 11 and found the same.

    URL.JPG

    Can anyone shed some light on this, like can a company do this? Should I contact them about this?

    PS: When I shut that page down, all did go back to I.E.

    Thanks
    John
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    Web sites can't change your browser unless they have managed to load malware. Even then I can't see any point in changing browser when they already own your machine.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    thanks Paul,
    Im running Malwarebytes on the Windows 7 machine as we speak
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Scan came back clear. Also ran MSE on my Surface RT, all clear there as well.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Jomtien, Thailand
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think you will find it's just a favicon. Quite a few websites add that little graphic.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,650
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    I think it is just a favicon as tollgate said. what happens when you click on the icon?

    attached are a couple of screenshots of a basic connection & a secure connection.

    Screenshot (7).pngScreenshot (8).png

    ETA:That is in Palemoon. anybody know how to do similar in IE?
    Last edited by Browni; 2015-01-29 at 08:46.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have this nuisance too. It tells me that some software is out of date and to click on to update. This includes Firefox, VLN, Glary Utilities, Adobe Flash etc. If you click on this it takes over your computer. Malwarebytes doesn't find it but Microsoft Security does but doesn't remove it. Any suggestions

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    Mike, what does MS security say the problem is?
    Have you searched for a remedy using that name?

    cheers, Paul

    p.s. next time start a new thread in Security.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    154
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
    Have you downloaded a free app recently or updated an old one? Are any of your apps set to automatically update?
    These will change your browser because they wish to and you have given implied permission.
    you may be able to track the change by looking at the events log.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for the reply Paul. Microsoft security says it is "software bundler win32/. I reran Microsoft security but it still shows up.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for the reply Philomel. I probably did download an upload several months ago, that's when it started showing up. What is confusing is it tells you to update by using the graphics of the programs. I will check the events log. Thank you again.

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    This MS article has some removal information. http://www.microsoft.com/security/po...in32/SquareNet
    McAfee call it a PUP, not a virus. http://home.mcafee.com/virusinfo/vir...px?key=8688491
    A thread from The Lounge on PUP removal. http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...wser-%28PUP%29

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    This MS article has some removal information. http://www.microsoft.com/security/po...in32/SquareNet
    McAfee call it a PUP, not a virus. http://home.mcafee.com/virusinfo/vir...px?key=8688491
    A thread from The Lounge on PUP removal. http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...wser-%28PUP%29

    cheers, Paul
    Thank you Paul, This appears to have done the job.

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    Which product fixed it?

    cheers, Paul

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Which product fixed it?

    cheers, Paul
    junkware removal tool did it. Thank you again for your help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •