Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What in the world is this on my screen?

    I have 2 Dell Dimension 9150 desktops with dual monitors. Yesterday in the lower right hand corner of the main monitor of both computers the attached appeared. It's 1cm x .5cm. I can drag it around the screen or to the other monitor. But I can't delete it. Haven't installed anything other than the latest Java, but that was 4 or 5 days ago, and I'm pretty sure it didn't appear then.

    It's not really a big bother. So if someone should just happen to know offhand what it is, please let me know.

    Thank you very much.w.GIF

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,140
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    What happens if you right-click on it? Do you get an option to see its 'Properties'?

    As a matter of interest, what OS are you using?

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Rick,

    No, nothing. I can only drag it around.

    XP.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,140
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    I think a list of running processes may help...

    Have a look at How to Print the List of Running Processes in Windows 7 & Windows 8. This also works in Windows XP so print the list of running processes to a text file then post it back.

    Hope this helps...

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    I think a list of running processes may help...

    Have a look at How to Print the List of Running Processes in Windows 7 & Windows 8. This also works in Windows XP so print the list of running processes to a text file then post it back.

    Hope this helps...
    For whatever reason I can't get the list through command prompt. Attached is the list from task manager.
    But please don't go through any trouble with this as it's not really a big deal. p.GIF

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,140
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    It's no trouble... it's what this forum is here for.

    Sorry but.. you have several suspicious processes running.

    What protection software (anti-virus/anti-malware) are you running (if any)?
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2015-01-27 at 18:43.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    It's no trouble... it's what this forum is here for.

    Sorry but.. you have several suspicious processes running.

    What protection software (anti-virus/anti-malware) are you running (if any)?
    I have COMODO AV and firewall, Spybot, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, SpywareBlaster.
    I keep them up to date and do full scans every week.
    On one computer the AV is COMODO and Panda on the other.
    Last edited by gaijin; 2015-01-27 at 19:02.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Try disabling all your Startups in MsConfig and see if it still shows. If not, reenable in groups to find the culprit.

    Jerry

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    gaijin (2015-01-28)

  10. #9
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,140
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    What happens if you end the KabuS.exe process? Do you know what this process is from?

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    gaijin (2015-01-28)

  12. #10
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    Apparently, it's a bug that's somehow crept in with the latest version of Comodo for some users. Try disabling (unchecking) the Comodo Message Center, it might 'fix' it: https://help.comodo.com/topic-72-1-6...Interface.html

    Also checkout the Moderators post towards the end of this topic: https://forums.comodo.com/bug-report...t109399.0.html

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    gaijin (2015-01-28)

  14. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    Apparently, it's a bug that's somehow crept in with the latest version of Comodo for some users. Try disabling (unchecking) the Comodo Message Center, it might 'fix' it: https://help.comodo.com/topic-72-1-6...Interface.html

    Also checkout the Moderators post towards the end of this topic: https://forums.comodo.com/bug-report...t109399.0.html
    Hi satrow,

    Thank you very much for the information. That was it. I closed COMODO and the thing disappeared.

    Thank you again.

  15. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    >Rick
    >jwitalka

    It was a bug in COMODO that has now been fixed.

    Thank you very much for your time and trouble with this small problem.

  16. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    What happens if you end the KabuS.exe process? Do you know what this process is from?
    Hi Rick,
    That process is software I installed. If there are others that you view as suspicious, I would be very interested to hear.

    Thank you very much.

  17. #14
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,140
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Hi gaijin - I've been through the list of processes now and they all appear fine. I thought some were suspicious but it was just my unfamiliarity with Comodo AV.

  18. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Glad to hear Satrow's suggestion fixed your problem. Thanks for posting back with the answer.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •