Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Weird new pop up in Window 7

    I have seven Windows 7 computers at home. All are 64-bit, but some are Professional and some are Home editions. Since the last update from Microsoft I have seen a strange thing going on with all my systems. I went to read the Microsoft updates which I installed plus what Susan had written about those same ones and none seem to mention anything remotely what is going on. Here is what is going on;

    On any of my systems, if I copy a file to another source like either a USB, to a networked computer, a CD to burn I get this pop up which I attached.
    Capture.JPG

    Now if I click No the pop up goes away and the transfer does not occur. If I click Yes, then it transfers and nothing happens. If I launch the program nothing occurs; it acts normally.

    So not why this is happening, maybe a setting conflicting with an update? Has anyone else seems this and if so how did you fix this?

    Thanks
    "Every Thing Changes but Change Itself"

    [Core I7 6700][Asus Maximus VIII Hero][8GB G.Skill memory][Asus GTX 980Ti Strix][1 x 512GB Samsung 950 Pro][850W Seasonic PSU][Antec 900][Windows 10 Professional, 64-bit][2 x Asus PG278Q]

    [Core I5 2500k][Asus P8P67 Pro (ver 3.1)][8GB Corsair memory][Asus ENGT430][1 x 90GB Corsair GT SSD][650W Corsair PSU][Thermaltake DH-202][Windows 7 Home, 64-bit][65" Panasonic Plasma T.V.]

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    This often happens when copying from NTFS to FAT32 filesystems. Is this the case here?

    (See Windows 7: "Property Loss" message when transferring images to flash drive?)

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    BruceR (2015-01-27)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    That's a new one and I have all the current updates but I have never seen that particular popup when transferring files to USB, networked computers, etc.
    If ( as you say ) the file acts normally after transfer, then it is an annoyance but not critical. I wonder if it could have something to do with permissions?
    I guess I'll try to google that one. Sorry that I'm not much help.
    I googled it and everything I found points to what Rick said about NTFS to FAT32 but in the MS Community forum some people posted that the same thing has happened to them ( as what you are experiencing ) as far back as april of 2014 and there were no answers that I could find to your problem. Sorry
    Last edited by lumpy95; 2015-01-27 at 15:01. Reason: after google

  5. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Hey thank you to both of you. You are right that it is rather a more of an annoyance than some sort of system critical issue. But I just thought I would put this out there and see. Just not sure why all of a sudden. It even happens when I transfer from one networked computer to another. Just weird. I guess case closed for now
    "Every Thing Changes but Change Itself"

    [Core I7 6700][Asus Maximus VIII Hero][8GB G.Skill memory][Asus GTX 980Ti Strix][1 x 512GB Samsung 950 Pro][850W Seasonic PSU][Antec 900][Windows 10 Professional, 64-bit][2 x Asus PG278Q]

    [Core I5 2500k][Asus P8P67 Pro (ver 3.1)][8GB Corsair memory][Asus ENGT430][1 x 90GB Corsair GT SSD][650W Corsair PSU][Thermaltake DH-202][Windows 7 Home, 64-bit][65" Panasonic Plasma T.V.]

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Winston Salem, NC, USA
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Very weird. I let all the updates happen automatically (yeah yeah, I know, I probably shouldn't let it do that - lol) and I do a lot of cd burning, dvd burning and copying to usb sticks and I've never seen that pop up (yet anyway).

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    So I got to reading Susan's latest and I uninstalled KB3021674 and now my problem is gone. Give it a try, I have been transferring to USB's, networked computers, etc. and that annoying popup does not appear.

    Thanks Susan for your work.
    "Every Thing Changes but Change Itself"

    [Core I7 6700][Asus Maximus VIII Hero][8GB G.Skill memory][Asus GTX 980Ti Strix][1 x 512GB Samsung 950 Pro][850W Seasonic PSU][Antec 900][Windows 10 Professional, 64-bit][2 x Asus PG278Q]

    [Core I5 2500k][Asus P8P67 Pro (ver 3.1)][8GB Corsair memory][Asus ENGT430][1 x 90GB Corsair GT SSD][650W Corsair PSU][Thermaltake DH-202][Windows 7 Home, 64-bit][65" Panasonic Plasma T.V.]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •