Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Question How to remove Vosteran from Chrome and IE on Windows 7 SP1 PC?

    Despite being careful about Declining everything when downloading a free program, I picked up yet another browser hijacker, Vosteran. I managed to get rid of it in my default browser, Firefox, but can't get rid of it in Chrome and IE.

    I think it came with Bitberry's Free File Viewer, but am not positive. It's the only free software downloaded recently. Any other program changes were auto updates.

    I searched online and found "how to" articles, followed directions (remove Add On/Extension; scan with Malware AntiMalwareBytes; restart browser), but even restarting PC hasn't helped. AMB found and removed 845 instances!! Also ran Ultra File Search; it found no instances. Have not run CCleaner.

    Chrome: re-opening it, I get this is browser URL: http://vosteran.com/?f=7&a=vst_file_...r=79588950&ir=

    IE: can't get it to work at all - get IE has stopped working message or absolutely nothing but blank IE screen.

    All browsers are most up to date versions. Actually noticed issue by applying requested Chrome update this morning!

    So, I'm totally out of ideas and hoping a Vosteran-experienced Lounger can help!

    If you require more info from me to offer suggestions, please let me know.

    Hopefully,

    Linda

    P.S. I forget to select "Custom" install for free software, thinking "Decline All" was sufficient. Next time, I'll try to remember to select Custom (always thought that choice was just for geeks!).

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Vosteran may also be in Programs and Features, but run AdwCleaner then follow that up with Junkware Removal Tool http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/adwcleaner/

    A link for JRT is lower down the page.

    You can usually get IE to open without add-ons by going Start - All Programs - Accessories - System Tools - Internet Explorer (No Add-ons)

    When it opens, click on the Home page icon for normal browsing.

    Just restart IE for it to open normally.

    Resetting IE to defaults usually gets rid of unwanted add-ons - don't use Chrome, so don't know how you would reset that or what you would lose.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-01-28 at 11:59.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks for the help, Sudo15. Checked Programs and Features...not there.

    I was about to download AdwCleaner, but thought I'd first check to see if that Vosteran search URL still showed up after shutdown. It did so I checked Settings in Chrome again and discovered that the Vosteran URL was set as the page to open on browser start up! So, I deleted it and changed the URL to my usual home page...and voila...Vosteran search URL is gone!

    IE is another story. It isn't listed anywhere in Programs and Features; opening it with No Add-Ons didn't help. Get a blank screen; then, the "stopped working" error message. I clicked Details and here is what came up:
    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BEX
    Application Name: IEXPLORE.EXE
    Application Version: 11.0.9600.17496
    Application Timestamp: 546fddcc
    Fault Module Name: MSHTML.dll
    Fault Module Version: 11.0.9600.17496
    Fault Module Timestamp: 546ff2f9
    Exception Offset: 00423b4c
    Exception Code: c0000409
    Exception Data: 00000000
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 83ab
    Additional Information 2: 83ab8faeb6f8ed478a2f624a0faf1081
    Additional Information 3: 63d9
    Additional Information 4: 63d9fa669a17249fb5b6b9230520c592

    Does that help at all?

    Also, I just applied the following update via Windows Update (everything is operating the same after that update as described above):
    Update for Internet Explorer 11 for Windows 7 for x64-based Systems (KB3025390)

    Not sure if Vosteran caused this as I can't get into the browser to check settings. Vosteran seems to have been totally removed from my PC, according to my checking, but...

    Should I be re-posting this IE issue in a different forum or waiting until we're sure it's not Vosteran-caused?

    Grrr,

    Linda

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Run AdwCleaner and JRT just to ensure there isn't any residue or anything else.

    Which AV program do you have installed as I've seen a few with the same problem in those who are using Avast.

    To eliminate your AV program even if it isn't Avast or perhaps something ese, boot up into Safe Mode with Networking to see how IE performs then.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Will run them both to ensure Vosteran is toast.

    Question: do I keep AntiMalware Bytes, JRT and AdwCleaner on my PC or should I uninstall the latter two once they've completed their tasks?

    I use Microsoft Security Essentials for AV (used to use Avast). Will try your Safe Mode suggestion later today and let you know what happens.

    Thanks for offering so much help!

    Linda
    Last edited by IreneLinda; 2015-01-29 at 12:34. Reason: Added question re. software programs

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    I don't think JRT installs and AdwCleaner can be uninstalled but that also vanishes if you click on Clean and after the reboot.

    I would keep MBAM installed.

    How did you uninstall Avast as residue can remain if you just uninstalled it in Programs and Features.

    The Avast add-on that causes this problem is Avast Online Security and if that is still present, then disabling it in Manage add-ons can resolve but it's better to run the Avast Uninstaller to ensure there isn't any residue. https://www.avast.com/en-gb/uninstall-utility

    If you are unable to get into IE through the Tools cog to click on Manage add-ons, you can download the free version of CCleaner https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

    Click on Tools - Startup - Internet Explorer where you can delete or disable the add-ons.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    BUA, VARBERG, SWEDEN, EUROPE
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    The easy way is to run Malwarebytes Antimalvare! Just click scan and than delete the result!

    Oskarius38

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks, Oskarius. That's the first thing I did. The others have been sort of for extra certainty!

    Sudo15 Sorry, backed up on other stuff so IE issue was on hold. Still no luck with it, but will be running CCleaner in the next few days to see if that helps. Will post results.

    Linda

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Did you run ADW and JRT ?

    Just as Vosteran had changed your Home page in Chrome, it may also have done the same in IE and when you click on Tools - Internet options it will show what your Home page is set to under the General tab.

    It may also have corrupted your Hosts File and this MS Fixit will reset that https://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    You may also find a fake Chrome icon pinned to the taskbar which can be part of Vostern. Simply unpin/delete.

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks to you both for additional suggestions. No sign of Vosteran anywhere on my system now and no face Chrome icon. Both Chrome and Firefox are working fine...just IE is not.

    Sudo15: Yes, I did run ADW and JRT. If CCleaner does nothing, I'll try your earlier suggestion of opening in safe mode (after checking to find out how to do this - I've forgotten but can search for "how to").

    IE is certainly behaving oddly in that nothing opens on the page and no clickable icon "works". Typing an address is possible in URL line, but nothing happens when clicking Enter or Search arrow.

    My other thought would be to uninstall and reinstall it (it's only a backup browser), but can't figure out how to do that. Or, use the Reset button to return it to default settings. Guess I'd then have to reactivate the add-ons I do use with it, right?

    First, CCleaner and report back...

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Resetting IE to defaults is usually a first step when it's playing up but you could also try the free Anvi Browser Repair Tool to see if it'll fix it. http://www.anvisoft.com/browser-repair-tool.html

    Click on the IE icon in the left pane to see if there's anything you don't want it to reset and clicking on the Scan button will just do IE but if you hit the Scan button on the main page, it will look at Chrome and Firefox as well when installed.

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    You are wonderful, Sudo15, in continuing to offer me helpful suggestions!

    CCleaner did its thing but IE persists as it has. I'll try the repair tool you suggested as I'd much rather repair than restart with a reset!

    Back with a post once I've done so!

    Update: ran tool on IE; opened browser, found an openable message at the bottom of the screen re. add-ons and disabled the 2 I had running...got the error message "IE has stopped working". So...

    Do you thing I should try reset now or should I uninstall the whole thing and reinstall it?

    Linda
    Last edited by IreneLinda; 2015-02-06 at 13:02. Reason: Added results of repair

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Turning IE 11 off and then on in Turn Windows features on or off may have some effect but I'd go with the reset.

    When I reset IE I always check all of the boxes so it restarts from scratch.

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Thanks for your advice/recommendation. I'm going to go with the reset. Will post success (she added positively!).

    Linda

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •