Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Need to manage network connection between host computer and VM server

    I need to set up a single computer running Windows 7 to be able to connect to a server running on the same machine inside VMware Workstation 10 without an Internet connection or a separate physical router.
    The VMware is running Windows Server 2008 R2. That machine has static addresses set up for a number of components.
    What I want is to set up the host Windows 7 so that I can use IE to connection to the website running on the VM. So far I have not been able to figure out how to get this to work without an external router.
    I am considering using a software router but want to make sure that that configuration would work.
    I have attempted to set the virtual network adapter to the same IP range as the VM server, but without something to manage the routing, I keep failing.
    Anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    You say W7 and the VM are on the same machine, which is Server 2008. This implies both are in VMs?
    Please describe the set up more completely?

    VMware creates an internal network that connects VMs with each other and the host, with the host acting as the gateway to the outside world. All VMs and the host can talk to each other without any additional hardware as long as you leave the VM network settings alone.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Paul, Sorry if I was not clear enough. The host computer is running Windows 7 Pro, SP1. I then have VMWare Workstation 10 loaded and inside that is the Server 2008 R2. The issue here is I need to get this configured so that from the Win7 side, I can connect to the website running in the VM.
    I do know that VMWare sets up a way to connect to the outside world but I am not looking to do that.
    The original mechanism we were using included using an external router to connect the computer running VM and then a separate computer on that same network connected to the router.
    My goal is to not have to have the second computer or router and only use the one machine.
    Does that make sense?
    Jeff

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    I don't know if this would suit your needs and it's something I've never done, but you can create a virtual router http://www.practicallynetworked.com/...th_windows.htm

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    VMware already has that arrangement for you. The host is aware of the internal VMware network and will send packets to it just by using the IP address. By way of example my machine has an IP address of 192.168.1.74 and the internal VMware network is 192.168.11.1. My Lubuntu box in VMware has an IP address of 192.168.11.129 so all I need to do to talk to it is send packets to 192.168.11.129. There is no need for external hardware.

    To see what VMware has configured on your W7 box run this in a Command Prompt: ipconfig /all

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sudo, thanks but this will not work. This is to allow using the WiFi on your computer to become a hotspot to allow others to connect to the Internet. Different issue.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Paul,
    I have looked at that but I do not have any connectivity between the IP address of the server inside the VM and the host Win7 computer.
    The VM server is statically set to a number of addresses in the 192.168.168 range. VM has two adapters set on the host computer, one is set up as dynamic which picks up an IP address from the VM server (192.168.20.1) and another that is static that is also an IP address from the VM (192.168.19.1).
    The dynamic address seems to only appear if I have the WiFi adapter connected.
    My issue is that I need to be able to do this where I have no Internet connection, which happens when I have to run this to demonstrate the software on some occasions and I still need to be able to make this work.
    Jeff

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    What IP address does your server 2008 have? Is it set to DHCP, it should be. The address should be on either the 192.168.19 or 20 range, giving you automatic access from the host to the VM.

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    VMware adapters on the host do not have external access, they are virtual on the host. They will not change / work with wifi.

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
    Hi JWThau,

    Did you get the networking sorted out?

    Chung

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •