Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Denison, TX
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    More Networking issues in Windows 10 TP

    More networking issues in Windows 10 TP.

    Windows 10 and some free backup software.
    I have been testing the following free backup software.
    1. Macrium Reflect
    2. EaseUS ToDo
    3. AOMEI
    Results are: Macrium passed all tests.
    EaseUS & AOMEI passed only backing up to an external USB drive.
    Both failed to make the required connection to both the NAS box (WDMYCLOUD) and a local Windows 2012 server.
    The failure in all cases was, "could not get network authorization, password or credentials".
    These failures happened even though I set up the Credentials in Control Panel.
    Windows XP, 7 & 8 all work to these devices.
    Windows 10 has made some changes to the way it handles networking.
    I sure hope Microsoft gets it right real soon.

    Maybe this post will save one a little troubleshooting time.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to RonB-TX For This Useful Post:

    djohnson (2015-02-04)

  3. #2
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    I have similar issues. I do hope it will be fixed.

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    I assume you are referring to AOEMI PA and have the update (V5.6.2) to AOMEI PA (designed to "work with Win 10")? It has since been further updated to V5.6.3.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  5. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Denison, TX
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks for the info. However the software I used is AOMEI Backupper Standard V2.2. This is not a typo error it is AOMEI.

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    @RonB-TX: It is I who made the typo(!) I was referring to AOMEI PA (V5.6.2) which includes AOMEI Backupper Standard V2.2. (Note that AOMEI Backupper 2.5 Beta has just been released).

    My apologies.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •