Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    New England (Connecticut)
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    work upgrading soon to 2010

    Hi all, looking for some down and dirty proffessional advise... our company wants to upgrade from office 2007 to office 2010... we have many access databases in a Front End/Back End set up in a multi user environment... all the databases are very heavy in VBA and the biggest being 23,388KB... are there any big conflicts/issues if we migrate into 2010 and is there much in the way of pre-planning/staging to do with current DB's before the upgrade... Thank you
    Kevin

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    One small point, there's two versions of Office 2010 and 2013, either 32-bit or 64-bit. When I installed the 64-bit version of Office 2010 [first time available] I had to remove all the 32-bit applications due to incompatibility.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    There is really very little you need to do. No conversions are needed, basically you should be able to just using Access 2010. Berton mentioned the 32-bit and 64-bit versions; if you are currently using the 32-bit version, I'd HIGHLY recommend sticking with the 32-bit version of Access 2010.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,172
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    Why stick with 32bit Access?

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    @Paul,

    You can only run 32-bit or 64-bit Office. You can't mix & match. Microsoft recommended with Office 2010 that unless you had a compelling need for 64-bit that you stick with 32-bit. That was primarily because add-ons were not updated to 64-bit.

    Joe

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    Paul T (2015-02-04)

  7. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
    I want to second what Joe said. I've had situations where some IT guy (who just upgraded their hardware) will say "You have a 64-bit O/S, you should use 64-bit Office". Yeah, and they had problems, all of which went away when we went back to 32-bit Office. I always tell them what Joe said, even Microsoft doesn't recommend 64-bit unless you have a specific need.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •