Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Sleep (not Hibernate) mode

    (Microsoft Office Home and Student 2013 & Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit)

    Hi -

    Still looking for a shortcut for Sleep mode. What I find on 'Net constantly results in Hibernation . Is there a way to bypass Start/Shutdown/Sleep to access Sleep mode?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    See PsShutDown & Sleep.exe.

    Joe

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    717
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Create a shortcut on your Desktop and type "Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState Sleep" in the location (without the parentheses).

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,147
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 302 Times in 263 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by acerfmayer View Post
    (Microsoft Office Home and Student 2013 & Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit)

    Hi -

    Still looking for a shortcut for Sleep mode. What I find on 'Net constantly results in Hibernation . Is there a way to bypass Start/Shutdown/Sleep to access Sleep mode?

    Thank you
    Not quite sure what you mean, but GoTo Control Panel\Power Options, then click on "Change plan settings" for whatever plan you have. Look through, and adjust, the settings to achieve the result you want.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 648 Times in 571 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    Not quite sure what you mean, but GoTo Control Panel\Power Options, then click on "Change plan settings" for whatever plan you have. Look through, and adjust, the settings to achieve the result you want.
    You don't know what a shortcut is? He wants a manual method, not automatic timeout.
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-02-06 at 11:36.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 648 Times in 571 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calimanco View Post
    Create a shortcut on your Desktop and type "Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState Sleep" in the location (without the parentheses).
    That also results in hibernation (unless hibernation is disabled).

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    717
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Catch 22

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 648 Times in 571 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by acerfmayer View Post
    Is there a way to bypass Start/Shutdown/Sleep to access Sleep mode?
    You can change the default start menu "power button" action to sleep instead of shutdown (by right-click, properties), which makes it two clicks instead of three.

    A shortcut would require a double-click or two clicks anyway, depending on where it is.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you all for your suggestions. It seems as though the answer to the question is 'No.'

    BruceR - I had thought of that but hardly seems worthwhile.

    Thanks again,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •