Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Google

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Silver Springs Florida
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Google

    If I am logged in to Google are there any programs that won't work if I haven't set it as my default browser?

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,205
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    No program that I'm aware of requires IE to be your default browser. It would be a bit like requiring you voted for party X before being allowed to drive.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    723
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 146 Times in 132 Posts
    http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/ can only be accessed with IE.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Was this question about IE? I assumed it was about Chrome.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,205
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    It was and Calimanco answered with the one site that may not be happy - although it's not a program as such.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    It was
    I don't see how you got from "it" to "ie".

    What's the Google connection?

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,205
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    The implication of not having Chrome as the default browser is that IE still is.
    Get with the program!

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    If IE is the default, #2, #3 and #5 were completely irrelevant and #1 still hasn't been answered.

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,205
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    You have a solution or a criticism?

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,079
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    If I am logged in to Google are there any programs that won't work if I haven't set it as my default browser?
    You may find that uninstalling some programs require IE for their 'call home' feedback as to reasons for uninstalling, some can simply be ignored but others may not complete the uninstall.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    You have a solution or a criticism?
    Neither. Just a responsibility as a moderator to keep discussion threads on-topic. I don't believe this question has anything to do with IE.

    If you now apparently assume, as I do, that it's a question about Chrome, do you have an answer?

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,079
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    My response was to the programs part of the original question and based upon more than a few years experience.

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tripper View Post
    If I am logged in to Google are there any programs that won't work if I haven't set it as my default browser?
    You can login to Google with any browser, but I assumed that the OP meant Chrome. Paul seems to have interpreted 'set it as my default browser' as 'set ie...'. However, the only person who can clarify this hasn't yet responded. I found the post a bit confusing and I think I'm not the only one

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,205
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Just a responsibility as a moderator to keep discussion threads on-topic
    I suggest you be a little more tactful in your comments.

    cheers, Paul

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I suggest you be a little more tactful in your comments.
    I don't think any of my comments were untactful. (Unlike your "Get with the program!")

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •