New Lounger
    Thanks

Forest and Domain Functional Level

Hello! I am new to Microsoft windows domain and given the task to introduced a Windows Server 2012 to a Windows Server 2003 Active Directory. I've created a virtual setup and run the scenario with no issue. My question in mind, raising the functional level on both Forest and Domain level, will it have any effects on current workstations or workgroup on the domain accessing the network resources? Thank you for your time and effort, I look forward to your response.
    Last edited by PDAS; 2015-02-05 at 13:49.

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    You can't raise the functional level while you have 2003 servers in the domain. All servers will need to be upgraded / replaced with 2012 boxes, then you can raise the FL.

I assume you only have a single domain - they wouldn't let a newbie loose on a forest, hopefully. Raising the level should be done for both forest and domain so you have consistency.

Workstations will not be affected, they use standard protocols to access the domain and only use more recent features if enabled on the WS.

Do you really have workgroups accessing the domain? Can you describe the network a bit more?

cheers, Paul

New Lounger
    Thanks