Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Firefox waffles

  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Firefox waffles

    I’m on a desktop using Windows 7 Pro, 64-bit, Firefox v. 35.0.1, & ESET Smart Security 8.0.304.0, the latter because an earlier version wasn’t updating. After uninstalling/reinstalling and resetting everything (I'm very familiar with what I’m doing here) Firefox kept giving me warnings for almost every site stating:

    This Connection is Untrusted, The certificate is not trusted because the issuer certificate is unknown.” These warnings came from sites like Microsoft, Mozilla, and others that I know and trust. After much research I found a tech page that instructed me in ESET > Advanced Setup to select: “Do not scan SSL protocol.” I set this and the difference was profound as most all web pages opened normally. However, it still is not unusual to try to open a page and get only single-line listings and links instead of the expected graphics from a “normal” web page. If I copy the URL, change to Internet Explorer 11, the page opens beautifully. Otherwise Firefox gives me something like the following (quoted verbatim below) which doesn’t make much sense:

    Mozilla
    Firefox for desktop
    Sorry, Firefox is currently unsupported by iOS devices.
    Congrats! You’re using the latest version of Firefox.
    Looks like you’re using an older version of Firefox. Update on Google Play.
    Congrats! You’re using the latest version of Firefox.
    Give Firefox a tune up

    Learn more
    Looks like you’re using an older version of Firefox.
    Update to stay fast and safe.
    Please follow these instructions to install Firefox.
    Learn more
    Looks like you’re using an older version of Firefox.
    Update to stay fast and safe.
    Please follow these instructions to install Firefox.
    Choose Independent.
    Choose Firefox.

    Download Firefox — English (US)


    Your system doesn't meet the requirements to run Firefox.

    Adding addresses/URLs, etc. to the white lists in Firefox and ESET doesn’t make any difference.

    I downloaded and installed “Firefox Setup Stub 35.0.1.xxx – Windows several times, assuming this is not for a smart phone but no luck when attempting to consistently obtain a “real” web page. Incidentally, I’ve run CCleaner, jv16, ESET In-Depth Scan, and MS Malicious Software Removal Tool. Thanks in advance for help and advice.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,730
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Maybe roll back to Firefox 33 -- that's what I've done to resolve a few of my earlier difficulties. Yes, I've simply ignored and closed their update to FF 35 popup.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Maybe something messed up during installation using the "online" installer? You could try downloading the "offline" installer from Download Firefox in your language.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    See if anything in this link helps:
    https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/979153

    Jerry

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger WildcatRay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    @bluebird2,

    Are you seeing this when using a brand new profile, too? Sometimes, a corruption may creep into your regular profile that even "resetting" does not correct.
    Ray
    OS: 2 computers w/ Win7 Home Premium 64-bit & 2 computer w/ Windows 10 AU Pro (1607)
    Antivirus: Kaspersky; Anti-malware: SpywareBlaster, Malwarebytes, SuperAntiSpyware

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    I recently had a very similar problem, where I kept getting those error messages about certificates not being current, etc.
    I thought my PC was having a mental breakdown. lol

    After trying everything I could think of, it finally occurred to me, that the evening before I had set my system clock back to 2011 to run an old program and I'd forgotten to set it back to 2015.
    Once I did that, everything worked correctly again. I guess I can call that a Senior Moment. Eh?

    So check your system clock to make sure it's correct. That's all I can think of, just off hand.

    Good Luck,
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    I never upgrade/update anything that is working properly except for antivirus definitions, which I do daily. (even equipment)

    If you feel the urge to upgrade/update because of fear or nags by the provider, go to their site and see what the "improvements" are about first.

    Often they are adding a language or some fluff that you don't need. Hey, you said it was working, right?

    The other thing they are adding is bugs - it is inevitable. If you read Susan's columns you know it is true.

    Firefox now updates to a new version - what? every month or so? That is pure nonsense, and brings the possibility of incompatabiliies with add-ons. I don't upgrade/update the add-ons either, unless I read about them first and find something valuable.

    In medicine the slogan is. "First, do no harm". It works for computers also.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger WildcatRay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    FWIW-Firefox has always updated every 6 weeks or thereabouts. THE change Mozilla was getting away from sub-versions like 35.0.1, 35.0.2 or 35.1, 35.2, and going to 34.0, 35.0, 36.0, etc. when updating. Most of these updates are for patching newly IDed security issues and/or updating similar security features that, like antivirus/antimalware programs, need regular updating. A recent need for these updates was when the security issue with SSLv3 was IDed. Most browser now block and/or warn of sites still using SSLv3.

    While, yes, we are not forced to update our browsers, it is rolling the dice to not update when we may be putting ourselves at risk due to using a version that is not as secure as the updated version.
    Ray
    OS: 2 computers w/ Win7 Home Premium 64-bit & 2 computer w/ Windows 10 AU Pro (1607)
    Antivirus: Kaspersky; Anti-malware: SpywareBlaster, Malwarebytes, SuperAntiSpyware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •