5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Saddened; RadioShack is now filing bankruptcy.

Below's what I posted at ZDNet. This one hits me hard due to what RS use to be to me me in my youth.

This story very much saddens me. I just wish Tandy Corp. had never folded and kept RadioShack as it was. Going from an electronics hobbyist store to what it became (anything but) is what finally killed them. Yes; we now have Hobby Lobby, but it's still not the same as what RadioShack was. My very first computer was a Tandy Color Computer (TRS-80 CoCo). My Dad then got me a CoCo 3 a few years later. Had a lot of fun with these cool machines. I was an avid electronics hobbyist since I turned 8 (back in the very early 70s). Had all of Forrest M. Mimms III workbooks (purchased, of course, at RadioShack) too. Went on and acquired an associated degree in Industrial Electronics (ASET) and finally went on to become an Electrical Engineer (BEE, Auburn), almost solely because of my hobby in electronics due to RadioShack electronics hobby kits. No longer an EE (went belly up right after 9-11/Arthur Anderson) back then. Struggled; still trying to stay above it all. Still, I've had way too many fond memories of RadioShack which influenced so when I was young. Yes; this erks me more deeply then you all will ever understand. Saddened indeed, but saw this one happening when all the RadioShack stores started closing near where I lived. Oh well; I suppose life goes on.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Yes indeed. I started ordering parts (by mail) from RS when I was around 10 years old to do hobby experiments with. Also bought "Knight Kits" from Allied Radio and put together my first "all transistor" stereo system - fun days of my youth in the 1960's. I'm sorry to see them go, I could at least still order from them on line, but I guess that's gonna end too.

New Lounger
    Thanks