Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    Star Lounger SoonerJim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Temple, Texas USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Brand new Dell laptop + Windows 8.1 = (?)

    Hello everyone. I saw several stickys about Windows 8, and I will go through them. I wanted to ask a specific question. My old PC crashed, but I have both an onsite backup and a Carbonite backup. Should I do my tweaking and setup of Windows 8.1 and then restore the onsite backup? Or should I do the restore and then the tweaks? Thank you very much for your time. Hope you have a great Valentine's Day tomorrow and Presidents Day on Monday.

    Jim Whitt
    Pharmacist
    Temple, TX USA

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I would think that after a serious crash you would want to be back up and running fast with the setup you started with.
    But this looks like it would be a decision entirely up to you on how to proceed.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    My old PC crashed, but I have both an onsite backup and a Carbonite backup
    Can it be assumed, based on the old PC part, that those backups are not from a Win8.1 computer? If not, there may be some changes that won't work, even if they are from a Win8 machine, and may depend upon what was backed up.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger SoonerJim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Temple, Texas USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    Can it be assumed, based on the old PC part, that those backups are not from a Win8.1 computer? If not, there may be some changes that won't work, even if they are from a Win8 machine, and may depend upon what was backed up.
    Good point, the backups are Windows 7, and are full backups. There are obviously a lot of system files to avoid.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SoonerJim View Post
    Hello everyone. I saw several stickys about Windows 8, and I will go through them. I wanted to ask a specific question. My old PC crashed, but I have both an onsite backup and a Carbonite backup. Should I do my tweaking and setup of Windows 8.1 and then restore the onsite backup? Or should I do the restore and then the tweaks? Thank you very much for your time. Hope you have a great Valentine's Day tomorrow and Presidents Day on Monday.

    Jim Whitt
    Pharmacist
    Temple, TX USA
    Before you do anything else create a full backup of the HDD in the new PC, so you can go back to that if necessary.

    Then restore your Win7 backup to the HDD. You should be able to get the PC to boot to Win7, but you will probably have to work through Windows Activation, and you will need to sort out device drivers (download the Win7 drivers from the new PC's Support website).
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    Before you consider upgrading to Win 8/8.1 you should run the Win Upgrade Assistant to see what is and what isn't compatible, plugging in any peripherals such as printers.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/w...oad-online-faq

  7. #7
    Star Lounger SoonerJim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Temple, Texas USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been slowly and surely working to get my Windows 8.1 laptop going. Suddenly yesterday, I am getting bombed by popup ads in both IE and Firefox. Some are redirecting me away from Windows Secrets Lounge before I can stop it. I have the popups blocked in the browser. Is this a function of the OS or the browser, or my current McAffee Security Suite? (I'm running a scan now to be safe, whatever safe is anymore. How do I fix this problem? Thanks a lot.

    Jim W.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    With typical British understatement, I would suggest that McAfee might not necessarily be at the very top of my list when considering which security suite to buy...

    For your current redirection problem you might like to run Malwarebytes' AntiMalware.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,180
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    You have managed to load a browser hijacker. Do you remember which software you last installed?

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    It would probably help if the OP gave more details about what he means by "onsite backup".
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    The way I would approach this would be to boot up into Safe Mode with Networking and run AdwCleaner followed by Junkware Removal Tool then follow the steps in this article to reset the Host File in Win 8.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-02-28 at 08:58.

  12. #12
    Star Lounger SoonerJim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Temple, Texas USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you all for replying, my friends! My comments are in bold below. Sorry for typos. Jim

    Sudo15

    The way I would approach this would be to boot up into Safe Mode with Networking and run AdwCleaner followed by Junkware Removal Tool then follow the steps in this article to reset the Host File in Win 8. I will do, thank you!

    2015-02-28, 06:32
    Coochin

    It would probably help if the OP gave more details about what he means by "onsite backup". Not sure what OP is, but I have Memeo backup on a GoFlex eternal hard drive.

    2015-02-28, 06:05
    Paul T

    You have managed to load a browser hijacker. Do you remember which software you last installed? Tune Sweeper, an iTunes cleanup program I have used for a couple years under Win 7.
    cheers, Paul

    2015-02-28, 04:52
    BATcher

    With typical British understatement, I would suggest that McAfee might not necessarily be at the very top of my list when considering which security suite to buy...

    For your current redirection problem you might like to run Malwarebytes' AntiMalware. My British cousin, McAfee came with the box and it has not let me down before. I have used M.A. Have just not loaded it in the new box yet.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,617
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 875 Times in 837 Posts
    OP=Opening Poster

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,180
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Seems unlikely it's tune sweeper, any other software you loaded, buttons you clicked on while browsing?

    cheers, Paul

  15. #15
    Star Lounger SoonerJim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Temple, Texas USA
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Seems unlikely it's tune sweeper, any other software you loaded, buttons you clicked on while browsing?

    cheers, Paul
    Not that I am aware of. I was pretty focused on fixing iTunes. How can a program I've used for years suddenly become a browser hijacker?

    I tried every technique I could to boot into safe mode with networking with no success. The tools found stuff and deleted them. But the browsers are still hijacked, I assume because I couldn't do it in safe mode. Do I still try the to reset the Host file?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •