Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Clinton, NJ
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need help removing a network

    I have a small office with 4 computers (Win 7 64) on a home network called Network 5. I have a server (2008) that houses our database and provides internet connection on another network called network 4. It is on a private network. All of the win 7 machines see each other with no problem. We cannot see the server, but the server can see the win 7 machines. How can I get the server to join the Network 5 and be part of the team? The Win 7 machines are newer than the server. We replaced older XP machines which could see the server.
    I am at a loss as to what to do.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,205
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    You need to join the W7 machines to network 4. Selecting "Join Homegroup" in Control Panel should do the trick.
    It is also possible that your W7 machines are using a DNS that does not know about the server. How are you assigning IP addresses to the W7 machines?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Clinton, NJ
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    You need to join the W7 machines to network 4. Selecting "Join Homegroup" in Control Panel should do the trick.
    It is also possible that your W7 machines are using a DNS that does not know about the server. How are you assigning IP addresses to the W7 machines?

    cheers, Paul
    On the Server, I don't have the option of joining a network. On the W7 machines, when I leave the network and try to rejoin, it is asking for a password. There is no password on the Server - Homegroup 4.
    I can add the password for Homegroup 5, but that takes me back to where I started.

    I believe the IP addresses are auto assigned.

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : PK5001Z
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::804e:98bf:7da6:b05d%11
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.124
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.0

    Tunnel adapter isatap.PK5001Z:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : PK5001Z
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.134%12
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fb:2c5d:133d:3f57:ff79
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c5d:133d:3f57:ff79%13
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

    C:\>

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,205
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    I assumed it was just an access issue, but re-reading your post it may be more than that.
    Does the server have both an IPv4 and IPv6 address?
    Is the server on the 192.168.0 network?
    How does the server "see" the workstations?
    Does the server have a domain or workgroup?
    Is the server 2008 or 2008R2?

    These 2 posts may be of value.
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...9-ab3ecf85e515
    https://pradeep1210.wordpress.com/20...s-2008-server/

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Clinton, NJ
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I assumed it was just an access issue, but re-reading your post it may be more than that.
    Does the server have both an IPv4 and IPv6 address?
    Is the server on the 192.168.0 network?
    How does the server "see" the workstations?
    Does the server have a domain or workgroup?
    Is the server 2008 or 2008R2?

    These 2 posts may be of value.
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...9-ab3ecf85e515
    https://pradeep1210.wordpress.com/20...s-2008-server/

    cheers, Paul

    Thanks Paul,

    Here is the Server configuration

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : PK5001Z
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::640d:515:f678:f078%10
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.165
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.

    Tunnel adapter isatap.PK5001Z:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : PK5001Z
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.165%14
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:1846:1639:3f57:ff5a
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1846:1639:3f57:ff5a%11
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::


    The server is 2008R2. Here is a screenshot of the Network and sharing center on the Server. The network 4keeps coming up as a Private network and I can't figure out how to change that. When I go to Advanced sharing, it will not save "turn on network discovery."

    The Server sees the other computers

    On another note, I went to the first link and followed the instructions to type in \\server2010. It will then show up on the network but will not stay there. Once I close the window it goes away.

    The second link had no effect


    Server screen shot.jpg
    Last edited by JoeP; 2015-02-17 at 11:22.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,205
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    2008R2 doesn't support workgroups so you either need accounts on the server for each user / group of users, or a domain.
    I suspect you have accounts for each user, then the clients need mappings to the folders on the server.

    If you open a Command Prompt on the server and type "net share" you will get a list of existing shares.
    It's also worth checking what user accounts exist on the server.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Clinton, NJ
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just to close this out. I ended up returning the drive. My plan all along was to use this drive as a backup drive. I discovered there is an incompatibility between MS backup and the larger 3TB+ drives. I am going to get a NAS drive and try that. Thanks for all of your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •