Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lodi, Ohio
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Trying to set homepage on Firefox 35.0.1

    I am running Win7 Home Premium SP 1 and I'm having a problem trying to get my home page set where I want it. I go into Options, the General settings page and type in the URl for my home page. After I check OK and sign out, the next time I bring up the browser the home page is always "Yahoo". I don't want Yahoo, but I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Any help here?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    L.D.,
    1. Navigate to the page you want as your home page.
    2. Make sure there are no other tabs.
    3. F10
    4. Tools
    5. Options
    6. General Tab
    7. Click: Use Current Pages button.
    8. OK
    9. Done


    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hampshire (the old one)
    Posts
    525
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 72 Times in 62 Posts
    When you typed in the URL, what did you have in the field immediately above it? "When Firefox starts" should have "Show my home page".

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    If the above suggestions don't work it could be worth running AdwCleaner and the MS Fixit to reset the Hosts File.

    This is the MajorGeeks site for AdwCleaner as the bleepingingcomputer.com site seems to have turned into an auto download http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/adwcleaner.html

    MS Hosts File reset http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 126 Times in 123 Posts
    sudo15, I have my FF set a hard-drive based html file That way, FF always comes up with something, even if the "on-the-net web site" is down. My HD-based bkmrk.htm simply has URLs [to the 'net] galore, along with a tiny pic of Kaleth, a Romulan war-bird.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    This is the MajorGeeks site for AdwCleaner as the bleepingingcomputer.com site seems to have turned into an auto download
    Did you use this URL:
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/adwcleaner/

    It doesn't auto download for me. You can also get it directly from the author's site here:
    https://toolslib.net/downloads/

    Jerry

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    When I went to http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/adwcleaner/ before, the download prompt came straight up whereas now it doesn't....

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
    I've never seen it auto download from bleepingcomputer.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lodi, Ohio
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    HTH - I tried that, but no go.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lodi, Ohio
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    tonyl - that's exactly what it shows

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lodi, Ohio
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    jwitalka - I downloaded AdwCleaner and ran it. It didn't solve the problem.

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lodi, Ohio
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sudo15 - I used your link to the Hosts File reset and used the "Fix it for me" link to reset the file. I think that solved the problem, as everything now seems back to normal. Thank you.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,609
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lodidad1 View Post
    Sudo15 - I used your link to the Hosts File reset and used the "Fix it for me" link to reset the file. I think that solved the problem, as everything now seems back to normal. Thank you.
    Glad that worked out for you.

    You can get redirects in there but usually only by malware - don't think Yahoo.com falls into that category (yet), but you could have downloaded something that included Yahoo.com as your search engine just as Chrome and the Ask Toolbar are bundled with other downloads.

    Just keep your eyes open for additional unwanted bundled software and uncheck their boxes before hitting Next or Install.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-02-15 at 04:11.

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Grrrrrr!
    Programs that I've downloaded and used, for years, now come bundled with CRAPWARE.
    I sometimes have to wade through five or six PUPS to get down to the actual program that I want.

    I noticed this yesterday when I wanted to download the latest ver. of the "K-Lite Codecs Pack" for Windows 7.

    All too many people just blindly click 'Next, Next, Next' without ever reading what they are clicking on.
    I caution my customers, to READ every word, of every window that pops up, to make sure they aren't taking something they don't want.

    "it's a jungle out there".

    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DrWho View Post
    Grrrrrr!
    Programs that I've downloaded and used, for years, now come bundled with CRAPWARE. ...
    All too many people just blindly click 'Next, Next, Next' without ever reading what they are clicking on.
    I caution my customers, to READ every word, of every window that pops up, to make sure they aren't taking something they don't want.
    "it's a jungle out there".
    You are soooo correct!
    Everybody wants to make a buck and show me the CEO that refuses to pad the bottom line with 10s or 100s of thousands of dollars if his organisation has next to nothing to do for it.
    Read AND HEED the yellow highlighted of my 10 Commandments for Safe Computing.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •