Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Molitg les Bains, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Tablet name problem

    I've just got a tablet running Win 8.1 Obviously the firm that sold it had opened the box and checked it was OK before posting and they had given the tablet a name. When I got it I logged in with my hotmail acccount and used netplwiz to get it to boot straight to desktop without needing to enter a password. Everything worked fine - I should say I have ben using Win 8.1 on a laptop for over a year so I am used to it. I decided to change the name of the tablet to something more in line with my ideas and did so. but when I next turned it on I was told the password was wrong and the sign in screen had changed to another name. I went back to the accounts screen and changed to mine, logged in OK but as long as I left the new name there I had to do this everytime I lbooted up so I changed the name back to the firms name and all worked again. Obviously there is a workround to this but I can't find it. Does anyone out there know how to sort this out? Yes, I know I can just leave the name as it is and that solves it all
    Last edited by norrum; 2015-02-14 at 08:17. Reason: typos

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger bassfisher6522's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    373
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
    Since it was originally setup with the firms name and it's an open box....I would log in any way you can and backup any data of value to you. Once that is done then I would do a factory re-install and just start from scratch.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to bassfisher6522 For This Useful Post:

    norrum (2015-02-15)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    How did you go about renaming your tablet?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Molitg les Bains, France
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think that sounds the best bet. I should have done that before setting it up but - you live and learn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •