Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Fred Langa's hardware bottleneck article

    The attachment shows my CPU running at 100%, whichever process I stop it always runs at 100%. Why is this?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pledden View Post
    ...Why is this?...
    Your screenshot indicates there is something going on with "Ethernet" since it is highlighted in red.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Does this happen immediately after a boot? Try a Clean Boot and see if it still occurs:
    https://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135?wa=wsignin1.0

    Jerry

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,176
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    I click the Processes tab and then the CPU column to see which process is consuming my CPU.
    On my machine there is one process at 50% (folding@home) and the rest virtually nil.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    A clean boot makes no difference, still 100%. Very strange.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Sysinternals Process Utilities

    Process explorer configured for a minimum and maximum working set may offer more info into the offending culprit.
    Unplug your Ethernet cable from your computer after you have downloaded the above & while you are looking.


    TCPView v3.05
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Click on the Details tab, and when there click the CPU column to order the processes in order of usage. The process on top (assuming descending CPU usage order) is the culprit. If you let us know the process name, we can provide more information; there are some processes, such as the Windows update process and the indexing service, that tend to consume 100% CPU and those are expected. But other processes consuming that much CPU might indicate a problem. We won't know until we know which process it is.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you Cafed00d, It says the 'System Idle Process' is running between 85-90%.

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pledden View Post
    Thank you Cafed00d, It says the 'System Idle Process' is running between 85-90%.
    It's the "System Idle Process"!!!

    The lady doth protest too much, methinks
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    The System Idle Process should always be a high percentage when not doing much, the key word is Idle.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Are you sure that the CPU graph was still showing 100% usage? Because if it was, some process other that the idle process would be running. The "idle" process never shows up in the CPU graph (if it did the graph would always be at 100% which would make it useless for determining system activity).

    If the graph is 100% and the idle process is what is running, post another screen shot showing the Details tab. Perhaps some virus is naming itself as the idle process.

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pledden View Post
    Your screenshot doesn't show the total CPU usage, it shows how much is being used by the listed applications. System Idle Process shows the amount of time the CPU is NOT being used by anything else (ie Is idle) so you CPU usage is really 9%.

    Regards
    Gordon

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you for clearing that up. Peter

  15. #15
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,176
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Maybe Flash player at 1.2GB of memory use is causing issues?

    cheers, Paul

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •