Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    How to run Java briefly?

    An app I would like to run requires Java to be installed which I do not care to have on my system. I realize I could do the install/uninstall routine but was wondering if any other ways to do this is possible. Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    LDB,

    One option is to install Java then Disable it in your browsers.

    You now have Java for your application but have disabled the major attack vector for Java exploits. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,417
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    RetiredGeek - could it be that you are confusing the Java Runtime Environment needed by LibreOffice/Openoffice's Database function, and by some other programs, with Javascript, used by browsers?
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    It'll probably be that Java is required.

    You would get some sort or error message if you tried to perform a ping test at www.pingtest.net without Java installed or disabled in browsers.

    I have Java installed and the only time I enable it in browsers is if I run something that I know requires Java or when updating it.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    RetiredGeek - could it be that you are confusing the Java Runtime Environment needed by LibreOffice/Openoffice's Database function, and by some other programs, with Javascript, used by browsers?
    BATcher,

    Nope, check out the link in post #2 and you'll see it is Java NOT JavaScript.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    Disable it by unchecking the enable in browser box at the top.
    java.JPG

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,417
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    BATcher,

    Nope, check out the link in post #2 and you'll see it is Java NOT JavaScript.
    In which case I apologise humbly - I wasn't aware that browsers made any use of Java [Runtime Environment] at all! I have banished JRE from all my machines, and never had any complaint from a program.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    In which case I apologise humbly - I wasn't aware that browsers made any use of Java [Runtime Environment] at all! I have banished JRE from all my machines, and never had any complaint from a program.
    See what you get when you try to do a ping test www.pingtest.net without Java installed.

    Netalyzr can be another useful program which also requires Java.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,417
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Those are both entities which I have never used!
    To be fair, I did say that "some other programs" needed Java...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    Those are both entities which I have never used!
    To be fair, I did say that "some other programs" needed Java...
    True, but that Netalyzr program can be useful to analyze your WiFi connection.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •