Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 10 Technical Preview and installation of RTM

    I just installed W10TP on a partition on my regular home PC--and I like it! It seems to work pretty well, so I was wondering if there was any word on the "in-place upgrade" of the RTM version over the TP... I'd install the TP over my Win7 Pro version right now if I knew I could just run the release install and keep everything...otherwise I'll keep it as-is.

    Any word from MS?

    Thanks!
    Fr. Bob

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    No guarantees at this point. They did say that was the intention though.

    Jerry

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    This is the 4th OS I have beta tested (for MS). Certainly, there are some differences, now, w/ the Win10 Platform from the past. But, that said, the Upgrade is a previous OS to Win10. Not, Win10 to Win10. In the past could not go beta to GA.... maybe, this time but, do not expect it.

    And not to be picky but, for most people it will be GA not, RTM. RTM basically just goes to OEMs & MSDN Subscribers. Well, there was a time when MS gave the Beta Testers the RTM to thank us for all our time, work and input. These we could use to upgrade the prior OS... not to 'upgrade' the beta. But, those days are history and were before betas were offered to the masses.

    The betas should not be used for "in-place" upgrades.

    Maybe, I'll be proven wrong but, I would not anticipate going from beta to GA. You don't have an ongoing license for the beta; wasn't a purchase. It's on loan, you don't own it. You upgrade what you own, already, the prior Genuine, valid, OS not, the expiring beta.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    thO622AIFO.jpg

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    I was able to upgrade the final Windows 8 beta to the release version using a purchased Windows 8 Product key. Gabe Aul stated it is the current intention to support an upgrade install from the beta, but there is no indication how it would work. I assume you would still need a valid Product key from a qualifying OS but that is pure speculation on my part,

    Jerry

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, guys. I have Win7Pro installed, but wondered if it was worth the squeeze to overlay W10TP over it...I'll just use it as a separate install at this point...
    Thanks again for the opinions...and I couldn't remember what I wanted to say, but I did know RTM was NOT the right words!
    Fr. Bob

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    Guess, we'll see, Jerry. If Gabe said, then... I do agree w/ you that, surely, one would, still, need a qualifying Key. Sure a huge departure from the past if it is doable. Think I'll continue to recommend not overwriting OSs w/ betas, anyway.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    Attachment 41861

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Here's his twitter post:
    https://twitter.com/gabeaul/status/543203901197922304

    Since since he used the word intent, there's no guarantee.

    Overwriting your main OS with a beta is never a good idea unless you have an image backup that will allow you to restore your old OS in case of a major problem. There is no way to roll back the Test Preview back to your previous OS. A VM, separate partition, or better yet a separate disk is a much better choice for a beta install.

    I have mine on a separate disk that I hope to upgrade to the final when it is released the same way I handled Windows 8. If that path is not available, I'll probably do a clean install on the disk I currently use for the beta.

    Jerry

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •