Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St Augustine & Thailand
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Malwarebytes....trusted software, run along with other antivirus

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but Malwarebytes is an anti-malware software,...not an antivirus software?

    So is it advisable to run it along with one's antivirus software??


    I've changed my antivirus software from Microsoft Security Essentials to AVG (free edition) about a month ago, but I found that my computer was getting to be slow to boot up,...and VERY slow to connect to the internet with IE particularly when first starting out each morning (it would get much better after 'warming up' ).

    I thought perhaps this might have something to do with malware that unknowingly found its way onto my computer. So I ran Malwarebytes this morning, ..and it found "MindSpark"...a tracking software I didn't know I had, nor where it came from. Here is what they had to say about that tracking software...
    https://blog.malwarebytes.org/malver...park-toolbars/

    BTW, what does it cost to purchase the paid version of Malwarebytes (I didn't want to go 'deeper' into their site to find out...yet)
    And certainly this software is a HIGHLY regarded product by now....correct??
    Brian

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 126 Times in 123 Posts
    Even though more and more security programs are becoming Swiss Security Knives:
    Emsisoft AM and MBAM are primarily anti-malware
    SpybotS&D, SpywareBlaster & SUPERAntiSpyware are primarily anti-spyware
    Most anti-spyware & anti-malware have lots of overlap
    Avast & Avira are adding anti-spy/mal-ware
    There's nothing wrong with more than one antivirus program on a computer as long as only ONE has real time protection on, the other[s] only run scheduled scans [make sure no scans overlap].
    One can have several anti-spy/malware programs on the computer. I recommend only 1 having real time protection[s] active and the rest simply running scheduled scans.
    A well-balanced, well-configured, multi-layered defense is best.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Yes, it is recommended to periodically run MalwareBytes along with your Anti Virus. Should run without issues although in some cases you may have to set some folder exclusions. i had no issues running malwareBytes with AVG installed.

    Malwarebytes Premium has gone to a subscription model ($25 a year). You may be able to find some lifetime versions on Ebay that were bought before the subscription model went into effect.

    Jerry

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    speedball (2015-02-26)

  5. #4
    New Lounger allman71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Statesville, NC, USA
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Here is a site that still has the lifetime version.

    http://www.antivirussales.com/store/...ti-malware-3pc

    I have never done business with this site, but it was mentioned at technibble.com.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Has performance improved since you ran MBAM as it can sometimes report that it has removed PuPs just for them to return.

    I would also reset IE to defaults and run AdwCleaner followed by Junkware Removal Tool should there be anything else lurking.

    The link for JRT is lower down the AdwCleaner page. http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/adwcleaner/

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St Augustine & Thailand
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by allman71 View Post
    Here is a site that still has the lifetime version.

    http://www.antivirussales.com/store/...ti-malware-3pc

    I have never done business with this site, but it was mentioned at technibble.com.
    I suppose I need to do a 'complete' uninstall of that 'trial-version' before I attempt to load another version.

    I remember having 'supposedly' uninstalled it before, but somehow when I just recently tried reloading it,...it remembered that....must have been some remnants on my computer?

  8. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St Augustine & Thailand
    Posts
    168
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Has performance improved since you ran MBAM as it can sometimes report that it has removed PuPs just for them to return.

    I would also reset IE to defaults and run AdwCleaner followed by Junkware Removal Tool should there be anything else lurking.

    The link for JRT is lower down the AdwCleaner page. http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/adwcleaner/
    I'll give those a try after I clean up a few other things. BUT it does seem like I need to have a computer filled up with 'cleaning tools'....

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    To show a difference between applications, just today Malwarebytes picked up a Backdoor.bot infection in the Kingsoft Office program [http://www.kingsoftstore.com/] that I downloaded but hadn't installed yet but my AV didn't see it.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by beiland View Post
    I suppose I need to do a 'complete' uninstall of that 'trial-version' before I attempt to load another version.

    I remember having 'supposedly' uninstalled it before, but somehow when I just recently tried reloading it,...it remembered that....must have been some remnants on my computer?
    Unless you have removed MBAM with a 3rd party uninstaller program, you will need MBAM's own uninstaller prior to installing another version https://helpdesk.malwarebytes.org/hc...-Anti-Malware-

    I just download AdwCleaner as and when and JRT doesn't install - it just leaves its report on your desktop.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-02-25 at 12:13.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by beiland View Post
    I suppose I need to do a 'complete' uninstall of that 'trial-version' before I attempt to load another version.

    I remember having 'supposedly' uninstalled it before, but somehow when I just recently tried reloading it,...it remembered that....must have been some remnants on my computer?
    You should be able to install the full version over the Free one without doing an uninstall first.

    Jerry

  12. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    You should be able to install the full version over the Free one without doing an uninstall first.

    Jerry
    I've seen where someone who had been running the trial Premium version had installed the free version on top when that had expired and it ended up conflicting with itself - don't know if vice-versa would have the same effect, but as it's a different version to the freebie it's probably best to fully uninstall one version before installing another.

  13. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Actually, you should be able to go to Activate on the menu bar and plug in any valid product key to get the full version. You don't need to download anything. This applies both to the free and trial versions. In any event, Ive always installed new versions over the top of the old ones without an uninstall and never had an issue with any of the systems I've worked on. YMMV The only time I've done an uninstall is when I had a problem with the existing version.

    If you try to install the free version over a trial version, you will still wind up with the trial version unless you run the mbamclean utility you mentioned in post 9. Its easier to revert to free when the trial expires by clicking on "End Trial" when you get the expiration pop up. I believe clicking on the Dashboard will give you an End Trial option as well but I don't have a Trial version available to check with.

    Jerry

  14. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 868 Times in 830 Posts
    In the case that I mentioned, the freebie was installed on top of an expired trial without using any of the options within the program.

    I've only ever used the freebie so don't know what extra the trial version provides.

  15. #14
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,650
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    I've only ever used the freebie so don't know what extra the trial version provides.
    The same as the full version until you pay for it!

  16. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    131
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Along with my anti virus I have Malwarebytes Pro is always on and runs in the background along with my AV. I don't believe the free version does this. And yes, your AV is for virus's and Malwarebytes is for malware/scareware etc. They do overlap at times.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to James S For This Useful Post:

    PointFive (2015-04-23)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •