Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    I just built an application in VB using a Access 97 back end. I created an installation package using the package and deployment wizard. I had no problem installing it on my test computer (just a generic computer that does not have VB installed). There was a point where the installation program stated that I had to install a component then reboot my computer. I clicked okay and rebooted my computer and ran the installation program again. It worked fine.

    On two other computers, it asked the same question, we did the same thing...but after the computer rebooted and I started the install again, it asked the same question again. Each subsequent time it would do this and never let us complete the installation.

    Has anyone else had this problem and figured out the solution?

    Something else probably worth mentioning:

    On the machines that I've been able to successfully install this thing on, during the installation it tells me that the file I'm trying to copy is older than the one on the destination machine (or something like that). The file names are as follows:

    msjet40.dll
    dao360.dll
    scrun.dll

    In VB I am running SP4 (didn't want to load SP5 because I've heard some questionable things about it, but I shouldn't have to I don't think). Is there something else I might have missed on my initial installation of VB? I've had it installed and have been using it for several months.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    You may have a couple of things going on there, Mike. For one thing, the Jet and DAO library files you listed (are those the ones on the machine or the ones you're installing, BTW) are for Access 2000, not Access 97. VB 6 comes with the Jet engine for 2000 so why are you using an Access 97 back end? Also, on the machines where you had problems, are they running the same OS as the one that succeeded, and do they have any version of Access installed?

    I personally haven't had any trouble with SP5, so I wouldn't worry about applying it if you need it, unless you're running an OS it conflicts with.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    Hi Charlotte,

    Good questions. Ummmm, regarding the files I listed (if I understand correctly), are the files the installation program saying that I am trying to install. Specifically, that those particular files exist on the machine I'm installing to and the files I'm attempting to install are older than the one on the target machine. It is the generic message that recommends that you keep the file that is on the maching due to it being newer. (Did I answer the question?)

    On my development machine I have Access 97 co-existing with Access 2K. From what you said I'm guessing that this may be the root of the problem.

    I used Access 97 as a back end because that is what is installed on my company's machines. But, are you saying that I could use Access 2000 and VB will read the data, even though it is Access 97 on the machine the VB program is being installed on?

    To answer your last question, all of our machines are running Windows 98, however of the ones I've tested this on, also have Access 97 installed.

    Mike

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    Hey, after you post your reply, look at the date/time stamp of the message in the Entire Thread frame. Is it giving you an accurate time? Mine is showing my last post was made at 2:21 this afternoon.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    I don't know what you're seeing as regards time. My time appears to be off an hour, so it looks like someone has been tweaking things.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    There's another issue. If you use Access 97, you should be installing the libraries that support it. You do not want to install older libraries over newer, and in fact, I normally install my runtime libraries in a different folder so that I don't run into this problem. However, if you're using the Packaging and Deployment Wizard, which is only marginally less pitiful than its predecessor, you may not be able to control that.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    Yes, each time I do the installation I choose NOT to overwrite the newer files.

    What do you think of Install Shield (that is the only proprietary installation utility I can think of).

    Considering what we just discussed, I ran a test to install the program on a machine that has ONLY Access 97. It had the same - newer file overwrite- warning, but it installed and ran just fine.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    I like InstallShield Express because it works much like the Packaging and Deployment Wizard but gives you more control and better results. However, if you want to install a 97 version on an Office 2000 machine, you're better off with InstallShield Pro or the Wise installer, both of which are programmable and can use SageKey scripts.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    I haven't heard of SageKey scripts, but they sound very versitile. Is Wise installer part of InstallShield or a different product?

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    They're two separate products. SageKey produces scripts for both.
    Charlotte

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    Charlotte,

    Did you mean that I can develop an application in VB using Access 2K on the back end, and install it onto a machine that doesn't have any version of Access installed? This was in reference to your statement (or question) "VB 6 comes with the Jet engine for 2000 so why are you using an Access 97 back end? "

    Mike

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    As a datapoint, I distribute a solution created in VBA and hosted in a Word template. When a new document is created from this template, the procedure checks for the existence of my small Access 2000 database and, if it isn't found, downloads it from a server. (This database contains queries; I think this is marginally faster than having them in the code.) The procedure then checks a local .ini file and updates the links in my Access 2000 database to tap into an Access 95-format database that is maintained in our timekeeping application (some users have local data storage, others are in network user folders). After than, I use VBA and Word to create substantially better reports than the underlying application ever hoped to output. (In my humble opinion.)

    The users require Word 2000 and ADO 2.5, which is installed with the Office 2000 SR-1 update (I switched the code that updates the table link from DAO to ADOX, and that's a pretty recent innovation, apparently). If they don't have it, they get an error "cannot open macro storage" or something like that, and our IT guys either install the SR-1 patch or install the MDAC 2.6 update from Microsoft. It's a one-time fix. Virtually none of these people have Access; ADO, the Jet engine DLL, and VBA do all the work. Make sense?

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    Yes, Thanks. It sounds like I put in a lot of effort to create the back end in Access 97 because it was on their computer when I didn't have to.

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia)
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    I have a little more information on this. It appeared at first that I only had the problem when installing this on a machine that had Access 2K installed. This doesn't seem to be the case since I just tried installing it on three machines of the end-users, which all of them failed, and all of them are supposed to have the same image as the test computers I successfully installed this app on. So, I did some investigating and I think I figured out, well, at least why the problem is occurring.

    The installation was generated using the package/deploy wizard and put on the network. I've been installing this using the installation directory on the network to create a local installation. At the point where it asked to re-boot after registering a component a second time (which is where this endless loop of "you need to register this component and reboot" occurs) I exited out of the install and tried launching the program EXE (from the install directory). It told me I was missing component titext6.ocx. I searched the HDD and found this ocx in the Windowstemp directory. I searched the registry and found it registered using the path of the installation program on the network. The reason I think this is the point of the problem is because it is my understanding that the actual registration occurs during the re-boot process. Well, the computer isn't connected to the network at the time of the registration so the registration fails. Thus, I get this endless loop of having to re-register this thing.

    In my probably not so infinite wisdom I deleted the local ocx and blew away the registry setting referencing the file on the network. Running install again just recreated the reference to the ocx on the network install directory. Deleting this again, I tried copying the ocx to the WindowsSystem directory and registering it myself using: C:WindowsSystemRegsvr32.exe/s C:WindowsSystemtitext6.ocx

    It didn't seem to work unless I put the /s switch in, which doesn't return a prompt. In looking at the registry, I did a refresh, and it pointed (again!) to the ocx on the network.

    The only thing I can think of is that you are supposed to unregister an ocx before registering it again, and simply deleting it from the registry probably isn't enough. Since I have to do this in DOS, and to make it more readable to the end user I used a space in the directory name "Roadmap Install", I don't know how to reference the space in DOS (I know it uses a tilde somehow, but I couldn't even do a CD S: to change directories to the network drive so I could do a DIR and see how it is referenced there).

    Am I on the right track, and if so, I hope someone is able to tell me where to go from here because I just hit a major dead end.

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: VB Installation Error (VB6/Access 97)

    take a look at MSKB articles and <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q188582&id=188582&SD=MSKB>HOWTO: Deploy an ActiveX Control with License Information (Q188582) and see if they give you any ideas.

    I suspect you're right about the source of the problem being the network drive. I'm not sure what you mean about having to do this in DOS, but if you have a space in the name you have to truncate it with a tilde and a number. In your case, it would be something like Roadma~1.
    Charlotte

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •