New Lounger
    Thanks

Black screen in windows live mail 2012

For some weeks I have been getting a black screen with one white pixel in the middle, when I click on links in some emails. The tab reads GIF(1x1pixel). It is not a 'dead pixel' as it also happens on other monitors I have tried.
    It seems to affect random emails sent by well established sources like The Guardian newspaper, and Medicinenet. If I go to the guardian site and click on the same story headline there is no problem, which seems to indicate that the problem is with the email client. Have tried several sites and tried all their suggestions without success. I have been using Windows Live Mail for several years prior, without any major problems.
    Am going to try a clean Windows 7 reinstall as a last resort, but before I do I thought I would give it a last try on this site!.
    PS. Not sure if it is any help, but I get the same result on my Samsung Galaxy smart 'phone.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Nerothefiddler View Post
    For some weeks I have been getting a black screen with one white pixel in the middle, when I click on links in some emails. The tab reads GIF(1x1pixel)...
    Bad links. Web programmers very often use 1x1pixel GIF images when defining "blank" areas to be displayed on webpages; they then specify "width", "height", etc attributes to the GIF. Sounds like whoever authoured those emails copied the wrong links.

...PS. Not sure if it is any help, but I get the same result on my Samsung Galaxy smart 'phone.
    That tends to confirm what I have stated above. Re-installing your OS is very unlikely to solve the problem. Better to complain to the senders, because the problem is on their side.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback