Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    ST-JEANNET FRANCE
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Restoration does not work!

    Does anybody got the same problem ? I can create restore points without a problem; when I want to restore , the restoration process starts , completes normally , then reboots ; and ........ suprise ! at reboot and opening sessionI ma told the restiauration process failed ; anybody understands that? I maus say that I have an antivirus installed to wit : Kaspersky Pure 3.0 ; is that program blocking the restore process ? Do I have to uninstall it prior restoration? It would be vey nice to get an indication .

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,728
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 127 Times in 124 Posts
    System Restore Points are not a sure thing; sometimes they work, sometimes they don't. Because I myself do not know why this is -- I rely on my partition backup images.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TCHAPAIEV View Post
    Does anybody got the same problem ? I can create restore points without a problem; when I want to restore , the restoration process starts , completes normally , then reboots ; and ........ suprise ! at reboot and opening sessionI ma told the restiauration process failed ; anybody understands that? I maus say that I have an antivirus installed to wit : Kaspersky Pure 3.0 ; is that program blocking the restore process ? Do I have to uninstall it prior restoration? It would be vey nice to get an indication .
    Calimanco has just explained in your other thread how to prevent your AV from blocking restore points by booting up into Safe Mode and perform the operation as your AV won't be loaded in that mode.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-02-27 at 10:53.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    ST-JEANNET FRANCE
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes , you are right ; very reactive forum! impressive

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    ST-JEANNET FRANCE
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well , I got the answer ; and by the way I know that restore points are not 100% sure but if restoration fails 100% of the time , then you have got to turn to some othe solution Calimanco gave the answer . By the way , is it possible that antivirus manufacturers take that enormous inconvenience in account ? Don't they KNOW?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    I think AV programs tend to object to restoring to an earlier date because it puts their Definitions out of date which can make your computer vulnerable.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,728
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 127 Times in 124 Posts
    SRPs can succeed within limited circumstances. It has helped some during the black screen - return to a previous working configuration once or twice a year.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    I think AV programs tend to object to restoring to an earlier date because it puts their Definitions out of date which can make your computer vulnerable.
    I seriously doubt that. One of the first things that would happen is that the definitions would be re downloaded just like all the missing Windows Updates due to the Restore operation.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    ST-JEANNET FRANCE
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    jwitalka is right; that can't be the reason ; my guess is that there is the license problem which prevents going back anyway it is imposssible that programmers of Antivirus did noy know about that serious inconvenience; no idea why they did never adress the isssue

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    After I've done a restore in normal mode and I open Norton 360 I get a warning that my Definitions are out of date with a Fix Now button before I can do anything else with it - that's why I think AVs don't like going back, but that's just my opinion and I'm open to any other suggestions - if any ?

    The Fix Now button usually results in Norton downloading the full database of Definitions and not just from the date restored to.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-02-27 at 19:12.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    After I've done a restore in normal mode and I open Norton 360 I get a warning that my Definitions are out of date with a Fix Now button before I can do anything else with it - that's why I think AVs don't like going back, but that's just my opinion and I'm open to any other suggestions - if any ?
    That's to be expected since System Restore moves the system files back in time. Its more likely that System Restore is triggering some of the Malware prevention algorithms of the AV since it is messing with system files. Most AV vendors work with Microsoft to prevent this from happening but a few AVs have more aggressive defenses.

    Jerry

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    That's to be expected since System Restore moves the system files back in time. Its more likely that System Restore is triggering some of the Malware prevention algorithms of the AV since it is messing with system files. Most AV vendors work with Microsoft to prevent this from happening but a few AVs have more aggressive defenses.

    Jerry
    Doesn't that tend to support my theory ? - although I've never had to do it in Safe Mode.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    No. Its not getting the definitions out of date, Its System Restore triggering anti malware behavior defenses like making changes to the system locations in the registry. Most AVs will allow a System Restore without resorting to Safe Mode but they will trigger definition updates as well since you are moving back in time. You will also see several Windows Updates at the same time depending on how far back you go.

    By the way, you can do other things while the AV definitions are being updated via an alt tab.

    Jerry

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,613
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    With Norton 360 none of its other options are active until the Fix Now has done its thing.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    But the system will still function....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •