Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Win 8.1 on two machines: how to separate them?

    I have Win 8.1 on two computers - a desktop and a laptop. For some reason unknown to me, the password and the home screen layouts are very similar. If I move the taskbar on one, it is reflected in the other, Why do I have the same password on both machines? How can I separate the two machines so that they operate independently of each other. I hope I am making myself clear. Right now the two machines operate as if they were connected to each other (we often say people are connected at the hip), well these two behave some what similar. A behaviour that never happened when the old desktop was running under Win 7. Any insight or assistance that anyone can provide will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    Ron M

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,652
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    I would expect to see that behaviour if you are using the same Microsoft account to login to both PC's.

    This gives an overview of local & Microsoft accounts.

    If you want to change this behavior you would need to set one (or both) to use a local account but bear in mind the caveats from my first link.

    Change account to local
    Last edited by Browni; 2015-03-02 at 19:06. Reason: Typo

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    You don't have to go to a local account.
    See http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...c-settings-pcs
    for instructions on controlling which settings are synched of different computers using the same Microsoft account.

    Jerry

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    818
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    I would expect to see that behaviour if you are using the same Microsoft account to login to both PC's.

    This gives an overview of local & Microsoft accounts.

    If you want to change this behavior you would need to set one (or both) to use a local account but bear in mind the caveats from my first link.

    Change account to local
    Browni, thanks for the explanation and the URL. I had a sneaky feeling that it was something like this - Microsoft wants to run the world.

    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka View Post
    You don't have to go to a local account.
    See http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...c-settings-pcs
    for instructions on controlling which settings are synched of different computers using the same Microsoft account.

    Jerry
    Thanks Jerry. I appreciate the reference to the URL, showing that there is more than on way to get this done.

    WesternGuy

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    If you want to change this behavior you would need to set one (or both) to use a local account but bear in mind the caveats from my first link
    What caveats? Not having the wallpaper the same on both computers?

    From the MS article.
    "you'll also be interested to know that even some of the apps that come bundled with the operating system won't work unless you are using a Microsoft account"
    More like "you'll be really annoyed that we put these apps on the Desktop but won't let you use them"

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    FWIW, I don't use a Microsoft Account on either my desktop or my laptop that are running Windows 8.1. I installed Windows 8 on each machine using a local account. I have user accounts on each that are the same Microsoft account, but have only used the MS account to upgrade to 8.1. I don't use Apps on my PC's, and I don't want to sync my machines, so I'm not missing a thing.

    In order to become a "Microsoft Insider" and get the Windows 10 Technical Preview, I setup a "throw away" account at Outlook.com, and installed Windows 10 on a VM on my desktop. I don't use those Apps, either.

    YMMV
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    What caveats? Not having the wallpaper the same on both computers?

    From the MS article.
    "you'll also be interested to know that even some of the apps that come bundled with the operating system won't work unless you are using a Microsoft account"
    More like "you'll be really annoyed that we put these apps on the Desktop but won't let you use them"

    cheers, Paul
    You don't need to log in with a Microsoft Account to use Metro/Modern/Universal apps. You do need a Microsoft Account that they may ask for. I used a local account for a long time and had no problem running apps.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    I can't get mine to do anything except flash briefly then close - those I've tried anyway.
    I also dislike the default weather application - I did not ask it to send my information to a site I don't know, but there it is, local weather on my PC.

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Don't think this MS trying to control the world. It is a way of using your desktop at home and seeing the same desktop on a laptop (when you travel with the laptop).

    Regards,

    Kevin



    Quote Originally Posted by Ron M View Post
    Browni, thanks for the explanation and the URL. I had a sneaky feeling that it was something like this - Microsoft wants to run the world.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •