Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger JSS3rd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Remove computer icon/link in network?

    I have two computers on my LAN, the desktop, running 64-bit Win7 Pro SP1 and a laptop, running 32-bit Win7 HP SP1. Both computers see each other and share files. No problem there.

    When I click on the Network icon in Windows Explorer on either computer, icons for both computers are displayed, and all drives, folders, and files on each computer are accessible.

    Because having the desktop drives, folders, and files accessible from the network on the desktop computer is completely redundant (when I'm using that computer), and as the same is true for the laptop, my question is this: is there any way to remove the desktop icon/link on the network from the desktop computer, and the laptop icon/link on the network from the laptop? If I remember correctly, I was able to get rid of the undesired icons and links when my computers were running XP.
    Jim

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,727
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 127 Times in 124 Posts
    I have the same thing at home. Others will contradict or agree, however, I believe in leaving well enough alone. Such is an internal Windows OS/Explorer operations, and from experience, I've learned to let Reagan be Reagan and let Windows be Windows.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,175
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 982 Times in 912 Posts
    Windows is showing all network accessible devices, so you get both PCs. I don't know of a way to remove the local machine from the view.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Star Lounger JSS3rd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Paul,

    I'm pretty sure I was able to do it when my computers were running XP, but I don't seem to be able to do it in Win7.
    Jim

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,727
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 127 Times in 124 Posts
    [Hawwwwwww]...it is best not to interfere with EmperorWindows7, which is far less forgiving than SenatorXP...[Hawwwww]
    --GeekStarWars
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  6. #6
    Star Lounger JSS3rd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you Yoda.
    Jim

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    http://www.mydigitallife.info/comman...dows-explorer/


    You can make an explorer short cut to the drive if that will help.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger JSS3rd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    David ...

    Apparently, you didn't read my OP carefully enough. I have access to the local computer in Explorer; what I'd like is to get rid of the link to the local computer in Explorer's Network.
    Jim

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,371
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JSS3rd View Post
    David ...

    Apparently, you didn't read my OP carefully enough. I have access to the local computer in Explorer; what I'd like is to get rid of the link to the local computer in Explorer's Network.
    I did read but from what I read I was thinking that MAYBE you just wanted a quick way to a less cluttered view.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  10. #10
    Star Lounger JSS3rd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I DO want a less cluttered view, but that isn't the way to get it.
    Jim

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    My Windows machines show themselves in the Network list in Windows Explorer and File Explorer but frequently they will show computers I have worked on even after they are back to the client so I just right-click those and delete. I'm leery of removing my computers from the list as it's possible it may disconnect from the Network, can't have that happen. My MacBook Pro is the only one that shows other computers but not itself in Finder.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts
    A small piece of electrical tape over that portion of the screen should do the trick nicely ......

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,727
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 127 Times in 124 Posts
    One of the fastest ways to cause reaching for OS restore is to get into what Windows does internally. I've done plenty of OS restores, from hard-knocks experience: Let Reagan be Reagan, let Windows be Windows.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •